We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Ivy Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warrenton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Warrenton B&B and Inns
london
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed earlier this month - passing through to the eastern shoreline. This is a very special place to stay. The owners, Jerry and Ellen are wonderful hosts and helped us a great deal in finding the best route for us heading east [we're British!]. The house is a delight and so quiet and peaceful.
The town is interesting and there's lots to see in the vicinity. J & E want to retire - go out and buy this great house and business!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife, her family and myself stayed at the Ivy this past weekend for a wedding in Warrenton. The home was beautiful and our hosts were great! They got us all checked in, and really made us feel as though their house was ours for the weekend. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious, and both Ellen and Jerry are very easy and fun to talk to. We happened to stay at the Ivy on the hottest June day on record and were very happy that the home stayed cool the whole time. If we ever find ourselves in the area for another event I will certainly be booking my stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonS920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding near Warrenton and stayed at the Ivy and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Inside and out, the Ivy is 100% Victorian, sits on a tree lined quiet street with other houses of the same period, and features a full wrap around porch with comfortable chairs and tables. The historic downtown is a three minute walk to nice cafes and antique shops. Best of all-the breakfasts we enjoyed were top notch, with owners Jerry and Ellen Roth attending to every diet detail and providing lively conversation about the Inn and past guests and travels.
I work in the restaurant business and pay close attention to the food, and theirs was innovative and delicious! The Ivy is located just south of the Lake Gaston area, between Rocky Mount and Henderson, so if you are traveling I-95 or I-85 it makes a good sleepover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradition, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

From the moment you walk through the door, you step back in time, yet the amenities are first-rate; there is no lack of modern conveniences. The owners, Jerry and Ellen Roth are a team that provide more comfort than I get back home!
The rooms are clean and comfortable; if you need anything, Jerry or Ellen will help you get it (within reason; after all this is THEIR home, too). Honestly, the Ivy brings me to a place of all my best Christmas memories: love, spice and the gift of friendship.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulagirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Indulge yourself and take a trip back in time when life was simpler and the pace was less hectic. That is what you can expect at the Ivy Bed & Breakfast in Warrenton, NC.

From the moment we arrived the owners, Ellen and Jerry, made us feel like family. The inn sits on a main street that looks like it was taken from the set of the Andy Griffith show. Who knows maybe Mayberry was patterened after Warrenton. We were blessed with a beautiful evening and just sat in our rocking chairs on the front porch and slowly sipped some wine. The Ivy is an old restored home and is decorated beautifully. The rooms are very spacious. And oh yes, did I mention the breakfast? It was well worth the price of our stay itself.

We only stayed one night but it was wonderful. The next morning we got in our car, relaxed and refreshed and headed back to the 21st century. Ellen and Jerry, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2005

This was our first time going to a bed and breakfast and we enjoyed staying at this cute little place. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. (I don't want to find out how much fat was in it let's just say.) And you can pretty much get anything you want to eat, but I would stick with their specialties. The rooms are nice and one of them has a bathtub with a built in jacuzzi. There's not a lot to do in this Anytown, USA but if you want to get away from the city for a night, this a great place. For dinner, have them direct you to the steakhouse which is about 15 minutes away.

Helpful?
2 Thank dwe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ivy Bed and Breakfast
Address: 331 N Main St, Warrenton, NC 27589-1825
Location: United States > North Carolina > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Bed and Breakfast is a warm and romantic 1903 Victorian home in historic Warrenton, NC. A 3-course, candlelit breakfast of your choosing is served on fine china in the elegant dining room. The Ivy is a short drive from Raleigh, NC, Roanoke Rapids, NC, and Richmond VA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing