We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at least for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wallace
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here just one night as a reprieve on our way to Myrtle Beach. The hotel itself was very clean, with newer fixtures. The fact that it has a very nice Pub/Restaurant in its parking lot made it the perfect place to relax after a long drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WishinIMFishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Wallace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

substandard hotel in a remote area. If you have an event in the area I'm afraid you have little choice. Biggest issue for us was the humidity in the room. The a/c could cool, but seemed to add humidity to the air rather than take it out. I suspect a moldy filter and/or a plugged drain.. Surprising since the temps were in the 60s outside - I would have opened the windows if I could and should have slept in the car instead. Reported but feel it's such a basic issue the staff should have already been aware. Two stars because the breakfast was better than expected. A few more things than the average place in a room that seemed clean and cared for. No ATT service to speak of, no need to stay here unless you have to.

Room Tip: Keep on driving or sleep in the car in the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wallace, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear VirginiaMapper,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the breakfast. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with the room you had and the service you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days while attending a family reunion in Rose Hill a tiny town a few exits up I-40. We had a large room which had a king sized bed, an alcove with a pull out bed and two flat screen tvs. This room also had a microwave, fridge, sink (along with detergent and plastic wear, which came in handy). There is a Walmart up the road, where we were able to get beverages, breakfast foods and snacks etc. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and check in was drama free. They had initially assigned us a room on the first floor. However, since we don't do any hotel's first floor, I requested and the change was made immediately without issue. Our room was located directly next to an exit, and the service area, but we never heard a sound. The service area had a washer & dryer, ice and soda machine. BTW, the washer and dryer were free to use, however, the detergent was 50 cents. This hotel is located right next door to The Mad Boar and a wine shoppe. We were leary about eating there since we don't eat pork -- LOL, but eventually caved in since there are NO sit down restaurants nearby. There is a Bojangles across the street and a couple of other greezy chinese and supposedly Hibachi restaurants down the road, but BE AFRAID of a greeze attack from both. The Hibachi restaurant has a huge sign that says "No guns, No fighting, No drugs". This was enough to send us to the Mad Boar next door. In summary, this hotel is clean and well kept, even though they are renovating the lobby area. I only give it a Very Good because there was no pool. And it was hot has heck in NC. Peace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an alcove. They do have 2 suites, but you gotta ask about them. Price was righ...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The only thing drawing people to this hotel is that it's the only choice in the middle of nowhere. If you can make other arrangements to stay in the area I would take advantage of them. The rates charged are outrageous for the accommodations provided. Rooms are clean but average at best.

Hotel advertises free wifi in rooms but mine did not get reception. This must be a common problem because a prior guest wrote a note on the flyer advertising free wifi in the room venting his similar frustration.

Windows in the rooms don't have curtains to cover the entire window. A sheer curtain covers the entire window but the blackout curtain is fixed and doesn't slide to cover the window. This is a little awkward and uncomfortable since there is a sidewalk and parking lot right outside my window.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verticalhorizon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wallace, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Verticalhorizon1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the wi-fi access and the curtain. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

An emergency situation and the staff went way beyond their jobs to assist in accommodations and area information.

Information was concise and correct. All request were fulfilled.

Southern hospitality in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I booked this hotel the same day I arrived, through hotels.com... June 5, 2013 around 10pm. Hotels.com showed that standard, NON-SMOKING rooms were available, so I booked two of those rooms. When we arrived, we were informed that only 'smoking' rooms were available. I have asthma and detest smoking, so this did not please me. Having no other viable options, though, we had no other choice but to 'suck it up.'

The thing that perturbed me was the check-in clerk's attitude on this. I politely suggested that she or her management may want to contact hotels.com about this discrepancy -- they showed non-smoking rooms were available for booking when, in fact, they were not. She seemed very disinterested in this and took a this-is-your-problem attitude, and even implied it was MY fault for booking through hotels.com... and suggested that her hotel doesn't make any money when booking through hotels.com. First, that is absurdly false. Second, that does not matter. I am a guest of her hotel and should not be treated with decidedly-second-class status because of the booking agent I choose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNCbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wallace, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear UNCWK2,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attendinga family reunion at my sisters new home in River Landing. Great location, nice and close to her home. typical breakfast included,nothing to write home about. the only annoyances were there were no docking station plugs for our devices, had to use regular plugs near the floor and bathroom and they changed password to the wireless during the weekend, which wasnt a big deal. Free water at the front desk was great along with the late afternoon homemade chocolate chip cookies. if you have small children beware our rooms did not have bathtubs only showers. We had to bathe a 6 month baby in the sink. the fan to the air conditioning was a bit loud and situated where the person sleeping in the closest bed was freezing. the hotel itself was very clean and everyone very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19sp117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wallace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wallace

Address: 131 River Village Pl, Wallace, NC 28466-1568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wallace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range: $99 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wallace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wallace is conveniently located off exit 385 (I-40), Hwy 41 east, .25 mi. on the right, next door to the Mad Boar Restaurant and Olde Worlde Pub. We offer 55 guest rooms and 15 suites. All standard rooms are king or double queens. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast (6:30 - 9:30 a.m.), free local phone calls, fitness center and wireless Wi-fi Internet services. Visit Wallace, NC and stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, an Award Winning Hotel.. - HOTELS GUEST LOVE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wallace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wallace Hotel Wallace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing