We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendidly good seafood - best in NC including the coast!!!”

Walkertown Seafood Shack
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Walkertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Madison, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Splendidly good seafood - best in NC including the coast!!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Imagine the freshest seafood in the middle of NC....Seafood Shack is actually better than coastal seafood restaurants. Thick flounder fillets (not the thin skimpy fillets served everywhere else), sweet scallops, delicious oysters and excellent service. The only item I was not thrilled with was the crab cakes.....a bit too salty and "normal" for the quality of the other items. Portions are huge....share with others for sure (extra plates are 53 cents to pay for the washing!). This is definitely worth the trip - be prepared to wait 30 minutes or more, but the wait is definitely worth it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
199 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Typical NC style seafood”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Cute decor with very pleasant staff. The food is what you expect on NC based seafood. Fried calabash style shrimp and other fried fish. There are some non fried foods and salads. These are good but I have had better. Their fried foods they do well with a light batter and non greasy selections. For those who complain about the food and menu, remember where you are. It reminds me of the old fish camp style food. When I go to eat, I go for the fried shrimp. It is great and miss not being able to get that other places. It is a great value with large portion. Perfect for a family dinner and take out is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Lickcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Just visited this restaurant with my wife, we were starving and stop by for some quick food.
But surprise, we got some awesome food what have to be honest beats some beachfront restaurants with quality and taste.
Priced right.
Portion too big me and my wife have two meals and we filled box to go what was left between us.
Will go again.

Helpful?
Thank Maestro Nenad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

An OK place if you are in the mood for deep fried seafood. You will walk out full. With that said, nothing that great about the food. However, very friendly, down home service!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best seafood for a great price”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

About four years ago, a friend took me there for lunch after church. I really enjoy seafood, but we all know how expensive it can be. I have shown a lot of people over the last four years how good this food/service is better than most any seafood server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkertown Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Walkertown Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing