We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Fire Pit BBQ Smokehouse - CLOSED

Fire Pit BBQ Smokehouse
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great bar-b-que. It's worth the trouble parking in the little lot, it's a good value and a good meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'll be back though”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was so excited when we entered. The hush puppies were great as was the server and most of all it's locally owned. What disappointed me was the BBQ. We'll be back in the future though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerdFanInWakeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and good food.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a new restaurant and this was our first visit. The pulled pork BBQ was awesome and by itself is worth the trip. My wife tried the shrimp poboy and it was good although the shrimp was a bit overcooked. I will return to try their BBQ chicken and ribs in the near future. The oly negative point is at this time it is not a full service restaurant and has limited seating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_jarman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ate at this restaurant several months ago after they had been open a couple months. Writing this review now n the hopes that others will as it was not available to review on this site then. I had BBQ chicken and it was quite good. It was REAL BBQ chicken not baked chicken with BBQ sauce on it that a lot of places try to sell. They have several types of BBQ and a good choice of sides. If I remember right and I may not they either had plastic utensils and/or paper plates that even though it is a BBQ restaurant I thought were out of place. Anyway I stand corrected if I am wrong. I will go back. .In fact I tried to go back and they are closed Mondays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving Take Out Option”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

For Thanksgiving, The Fire Pit Restaurant offered complete Turkey/Side Dishes packages for pick up. Given that I was having a total 27 people over for Thanksgiving, I ordered the largest amount which cost somewhere in the amount of 250 bucks. Everyone especially loved the smoked taste of the turkey and on of our more professional cooks said, it was the best she had ever had. That goes along way with me. The sides are the following:
Sweet potato casserole (2 pounds) was a favorite
Green bean casserole (2 pounds) was standard
Mashed potatoes (2 pounds) was a favorite
Mac and cheese (2 pounds) was some of the best I ever had
Cranberry sauce was standard
Sweet tea was a great choice as well. Just wanted to give restaurant for improving upon our annual traditions. I will mention that when I arrived at 11 to pick the food up, there was line of people waiting...so it must be a popular choice. Rumor has it that they may offer a smoked ham over Christmas and I will certainly jump on that band wagon too. I have never eaten in the restaurant itself..but if this food is indicative, I will be back one way or another. Thanks for making our thanksgiving appetites hungry for more.
The package came corn bread and honey butter
them. The selection was a sizable smoked turkey along with 12 pounds of side options. The turkey was very tender and almost melted in you mouth and it was nice change of the smoked variety. The entire meal served a total of 26 people over the course of the day and everyone enjoyed it all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Pit BBQ Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing