We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Plus....”

Falls Lake State Recreation Area
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Wake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lake Plus....”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've lived in and around Raleigh/Durham for 40+ years and only recently started taking advantage of Falls Lake. The more time I spent on and around the lake the more I realized how fortunate I am to have it so close by. It's not the biggest lake in NC, and gets crowded on summer weekends and holidays. But there are literally half a dozen different boat ramps, some of which have as many as 8 lanes and other are open 24/7 free of charge. The fishing must be good because bass boats are out nearly year round. There are several big camping areas, one of which has an exclusive boat ramp and miles and miles of hiking trails. It's not Yosemite National Park, but it's also essentially in my back yard, largely free and very well maintained. Give it a try if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank louhodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bokeelia, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty park...but”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in August and mostly enjoyed our time. The park is very pretty, peaceful and empty. We felt we had the park to ourselves. Two major complaints for this park. First, the bathrooms and showers are disgusting. Whoever maintains them does a surface job and that's it. We couldn't wait to get home and take real showers. We've stayed at many state and national parks and unfortunately, Falls State is one of the worst for bathroom/showers. Also the park closes at 9 pm and doesn't open up until 8 am. We had to plan all our activities around those times. It was annoying, no night activities. Considering we were outside Raleigh and really wanted to take advantage of theatres and such. And don't have an emergency after hours. So with that we have to give this park an average rating. And I had to argue with my husband to get the average rating. This is a park best used for short stays or day use.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Peace and Quiet Indeed!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went in the middle of the week in the middle of the summer...and we were the only ones camping in the entire park! There were a couple hikers and plenty of boats on the lake, but we were the only tent. Took a couple of hikes, and except for the hike to the tip of the peninsula they were great. The peninsula trail is not well kept and as you get to the end of the trail it gets progressively more dirty. Ignore what the other reviews say about the staff there: they were very helpful and never bothered us at all. Do heed what the other reviewers say about alcohol, it's totally fine as long as you are discreet about it. (We were drinking our wine out of travel mugs.) The only downside was our own fault because we forgot how heavy firewood is to carry in!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Campsite was nearly empty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We tried camping at rolling view campsite after reading some reviws on this site. We didn't make a reservation and when we arrived we were told to choose a site in loop A. As usual the few water sites were taken but the rest of the loop was empty. We chose #9 which was open but private. The showers/toilets were clean. You can walk to the beach from here, it's marked as being 0.4 miles on the trail. Watch out for spider webs if it's not busy. The beach was okay but had lots of bird poop around the beach. We walked on the trails to the boat launch area and the beach there was nearly empty and much cleaner and nicer. We checked out loop B and found that area to be better if you have kids. There's an open area and play area for kids. Not a bad camp ground but the beaches are quite a hike from the campsites.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilefreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We decided to take a last minute, long weekend trip during the fourth of July weekend. We found Falls Lake by researching what was near our home. Holly point had a lot of campsites to choose from even though we booked only 4 days in advance on a holiday weekend. The park rangers were friendly and very helpful with any questions. Our site number was 55 on loop 2. This site offered lots of shade, which was really nice during the heat of the day. The site was also a good size, we set up a large 8 person tent, a smaller 4 person tent, and a screened tent to keep our food in. Best of all this site offers access to the lake with a pretty cleared trial; this was nice with the two dogs who loved walking in off the bank. The beach area was nicer than expected. There was lots of room for you to set up lounge chairs and sunbathe. There is a large grassy area and then a smaller "sand" beach area right before the water. The bath houses were decent. The showers were never really busy and the toilet paper was always stocked. The only down side of the bathhouse is that two of the drains out of the four showers were clogged, the first night i had to switch mid-shower due to it flooding my feet. At night the park was quite, and well patrolled which is nice when you have children. Overall we had a wonderful trip and meet a lot of nice people. We are already planning to do another longer trip in about a month. .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mandaroc8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falls Lake State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Falls Lake State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing