We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third park exit for bike tracks”

Falls Lake State Recreation Area
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Wake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Third park exit for bike tracks”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I've been to this park at least three times and each time I took a different exit from Creedmore Road/NC50
The last exit was one that contained dedicated bike tracks, which was great as I'd tried cycling around the largest part of the park on the second exit previously, but that is more geared toward boating and picnics and maybe camping.
Had a great time on what is a nice little technical track, it would be great if it were a bit more hilly, but it's still a great workout as the forest tries to get you off your bike in a few parts.
Wasn't the cruise in the park that my wife had imagined, but I had a great time (and that's what counts, right!?)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Have been here through many seasons. Great place to have a picnic, take a hike or just a nap.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank plangirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Sights”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice views but some camping sites are not very level and some in very inconvenient locations to maneuver a larger trailer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank RitaLanokaHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Park for Camping”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family and another family of 4 decided to try our hand at camping for the first time last summer. We chose to start off with Falls Lake since it is close to our homes in Raleigh (in case anything went wrong, we'd be close to home). We had a great time, loved being so close to the lake for swimming and fishing, and we were very impressed with the campsite facilities. We stayed at the Rolling View area, so we had water and electricity at our site, and the bath area was only 100 yds away. Overall we had a great time - the only negative would be that the large camper next to us had their AC running the whole night, so we didn't get the "natural" experience.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank HeathRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like the beach....”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It's like the beach with sandy spots for building sand castles and laying out. The only thing is that it's a lake. My boys swim here every year and the only they say is they feel the fish bit. Kinda cute!!(does not hurt)

Helpful?
1 Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falls Lake State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Falls Lake State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing