We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Picken Chicken

Tropical Picken Chicken
Ranked #25 of 136 Restaurants in Wake Forest
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Cuban, South American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great deal for family outings. Awesome carribean food.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Paid $43 for lunch.. 4 sandwiches, 4 drinks and plantains.. Well see for yourself..plantains are super cheap to buy and certainly not hard to cook.. We got them warm not hot.. And super greasy! Very disappointed that I paid what I did for plantains that were no more than just ok..we ate them because we paid for them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great authentic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My daughter and I happened to walk into this place for an after school lunch and loved it! Very flavorful, nice portions, friendly staff, going to bring the rest of my family back tomorrow!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldiemsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It doesn't look like much, nestled in a rather drab business strip, but the chicken here is awesome! We like the basic chicken meal served with two sides, but I'm also a big fan of the Cuban sandwich. The fried plantains are delicious. Recently they've redecorated so it's more festive inside. Delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelfan10706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This little "hidden gem" is amazing. An amazing blend of Caribbean dishes. I love the pulled pork BBQ, the grilled chicken breasts, the plantains and OMG the Cuban Cheesecake... My hubby loves to get their Ropa Vieja. You get large servings for a very reasonable price and the family options are even better deals!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on Main Street in Wake Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

4 of us ate at this place the other night. Nothing fancy about furnishings or the location. The server was new so she didn't know too much about the food or drinks, but we gave her a pass on that one. The food came out just right, and quick, and it all was delicious. Roasted pulled pork, a great fried plantain sandwich of chicken, a simple yet very good 1/2 chicken and Jerk Chicken. They were out of Yuca (disappointed!!) but the other sides were excellent including black beans, side salad and plantains too. Mac n Cheese was homemade too! good selection of beers and other drinks. Casual, decent price, very good food. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Picken Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Picken Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing