We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room as expected; horrible outdoor lighting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room as expected; horrible outdoor lighting”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at many Candlewood Suites in the past and the room, check-in and check-out were all as expected. The location of this hotel is quite good, close to restaurants and gas stations and easily accessible from the highway.

Now, the reason for my Average rating rather than a Very Good. I was traveling with my dog, who happens to be a Doberman, so I usually feel pretty safe no matter where I am. However, the outdoor lighting for the dog walking area was not great. If it was improved, this hotel would definitely get a Very Good from me!

From a service perspective, this hotel exceeded my expectations. On one of my visits to the dog area outside, I noticed the light over the door to re-enter the hotel was not on making it difficult to even see the lock to use the room key for entry. I went to the front desk and told the gentleman on duty and he immediately went with me so I could show him precisely where the light was out. He had the light bulb replaced and the problem fixed in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorcerersLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear SorcerersLady,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
119
31
18
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmore, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The whole hotel was newer, clean and comfortable. Easy access to all outlets, spacious room. Dresser was a little small for an extended stay but worked for our purposes. Only complaint I have is that there was tape on the edge of the carpet where it met with the wood floor. I assume that its because it was worn down and fraying some but the tape was very tacky. My toddler ended up pulling it off. Think there could have been a better solution. Didn't interacte with staff much, but all were super nice when we did. Overall, a great hotel that I'd stay at again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! First and foremost let me apologize for the issue in regards to the carpet. We were unable to get our vendor out in a timely manner and weren't able to solve the problem as quickly as we'd like. Rest assure that the carpet has now been repaired. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARS
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visiting family in the Wake Forest area, we chose Candlewood Suites based on location and other reviews. This hotel's rooms have a nice kitchen area but are not a separate seating and sleep rooms as other suite hotels. There was only one relaxing chair although it was a recliner. What sets this hotel apart is the friendliness of the staff. We were greeted as IHG loyalty members. We needed an extra pillow and it was brought right up. Needing some ice (slow ice maker in our freezer), the front desk manager provided ice from their staff freezer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_DMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay. In the future if you are looking for a separate living room we do have our One Bedroom Suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room option. We are the only hotel in the Wake Forest Raleigh area that offers this room type. Our staff enjoys providing the best in class service and the cleanest rooms in our area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Candlewood experience. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I selected this property when we were buying a home in Wake Forest. We weren't sure if we were bringing our dogs, and needed a pet-friendly place.
The rooms are very clean, spacious, and comfortable. I took advantage of the workout room which is small, but adequate with lots of equipment.
They have some appetizers out a couple nights a week. Rooms well equipped with refrigerator and stove top.
The desk clerks were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to a lot of restaurants, and there is a Walgreen's right next to the parking lot which is great if you're staying for awhile.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaBWakeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We were all very excited to hear from you! We were also happy to see that you were able to bring fido along! Our location and amenities play a strong role when guests choose our hotel. Thank you for trusting us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to your next visit and we'd love to see fido again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Each and every time I stay here, They call me by name and provide Exceptional Service.
I feel at home here. Very Comfortable Stay...They have a Manager's Special Event on Tuesday's and Thursday's which includes Light Finger Foods and Beverages.. A nice touch..
The Rooms are very clean and neat along with functional desk space. They also include Fridge, Microwave and Plenty of Plates, Bowls and Silverware.

Jim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We take a lot of pride in building relationships with our guests. We don't look at our facility as a place to stay but a place to feel comfortable. A place where everyone knows your name! My team was very excited when I told them about your review. This is the type of relationship we like to build with each one of our guests. I am happy to see that you experienced the best in class service and experience at our hotel. Thank you again for choosing our hotel amongst the choices you had. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your kind words! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our experience at your hotel was great. The staff was excellent, friendly & helpful. Everything was so clean from the grounds to our room. The room was very comfortable. It was great to have a full size refrigerator with an ice maker. The room had a stove top which was nice to wake up in the morning & be able to make a little breakfast. The location of your hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: The friendly staff will guide you to get the perfect room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We're so happy you had a wonderful stay at our hotel! As always, it is our goal to make your stay at our hotel your home away from home. Its great to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of our team members, especially our Heart of the House Staff. As you already know, they work day and night to ensure that our hotel is the cleanest hotel in our market. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed a healthy meal in the comforts of our your own suite. My team looks forward to your next stay. See you soon and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This Candlewood Suites is relatively new and they do a great job keeping it up. The amenities are great for short or long stays (decent workout room, great free laundry). Every room has a kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator (no ovens, but a microwave and stove-top). The management and staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to please. Great value for the money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsbyron, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It has been a pleasure serving you on each one of your visits. We are happy to hear that you trust our hotel to be your company's premier and only vendor for accommodations. As always, thank you for trusting in our brand and our team. They were very excited to have heard from you on TripAdvisor.com. If there is anything we can do to assist you, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wake Forest
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh/Town Of Wake Forest
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Wake Forest Raleigh North
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Raleigh Northeast Wake Forest
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Raleigh North/Triangle Town Center
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh Triangle Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel

Property: Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel
Address: 12050 Retail Dr, Wake Forest, NC 27587-7353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wake Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that the beautiful town of Wake Forest has to offer at the convenient, comfortable all new extended stay Candlewood Suites Wake Forest. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Only a short drive from the capital city, Raleigh, N.C. and 25 miles from RDU Airport. You will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Wake Forest to do. We are strategically located off of HWY US 1 and HWY 98. Whether you are coming to Wake Forest for business or just for leisure, your room at the extended stay Candlewood Suites Wake Forest is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. The best of Wake Forest is waiting for you at the Candlewood Suites Wake Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing