We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Southern Retreat in an elegant setting with true Southern Hospitality”
Review of Lions Gate Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wake Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lions Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wake Forest B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely Southern Retreat in an elegant setting with true Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Lions Gate Inn, part of a recent trip to Wake Forest to visit grandchildren. The setting is just lovely, and the Howards were planting their spring gardens while we were there. The house is on the local Garden Tour circuit, easy to see why. This is a very special place to stay. It has all the charm of a century-old mansion, but with soundproof windows, walls and plumbing, and all the modern necessities. They even have an elevator! The Howards are incredibly gracious hosts. When we weren't going to be around for 5 pm wine and cheese, Bill Howard insisted I take a bottle of chilled white wine to our kids' home to share there. Louise outdoes herself on the breakfasts, which are available at your convenient time, so I still was able to sleep in. We stayed in the smallest room, which was lovely. The entire house is filled with Louise's antique collections, and feels like you are in a time warp. Just a lovely experience, and so much more comfortable than a hotel that it will be hard to ever stay in a hotel or motel again!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Rhonda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I had a lovely and relaxing time at the Lions Gate Inn. We stayed in the warm and cozy Hayden Room. The bed was wonderful and we slept very soundly. In the morning, it was a delight to be greeted with fresh orange juice, coffee and a delicious breakfast. The home is beautifully decorated and has several comfortable places to relax and read.
Bill and Louise are very gracious hosts. They welcomed us warmly and engaged in delightful conversation, including a fascinating history of the house. Our stay was truly a delight and we look forward to having the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DanGYork_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Lion's Gate Inn for our wedding night and it was PERFECT. Bill and Louise really made it extra special for us! When we arrived at the house, they greeted us with congratulations and helped us get settled into our room (The Katherine Room). We were so surprised and delighted to see a (very expensive) bottle of champagne waiting for us when we got there! Our experience was so wonderful! The bed was comfortable, the decor was exquisite....I could go on and on. Louise made us a DELICIOUS breakfast the following morning, and we really enjoyed talking to her and hearing the history behind the house. She and Bill went out of their way to make our stay memorable. My husband (an Army Officer) broke his back 8 days before our wedding, and Bill helped carry our luggage up and down the stairs and made sure that my husband was comfortable. I can't say enough about how wonderful the Howards and their beautiful home are! Don't miss out on this treasure if you're in Wake Forest, NC! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ArmyWifeBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Lion's Gate Inn was a wonderful place to stay overnight or for an extended time. The location is great -- on a nice street -- and just a few blocks from town. The house is fully renovated, beautifully decorated, and full of wonderful artwork and antiques. There's a large stone patio and beautiful backyard to enjoy.

We were in town with our 11 year old's travel baseball team for a tournament at the nearby Factory baseball complex. We stayed in the suite and really enjoyed the private entrance, 2 bedrooms, and full kitchen. The entire house was very clean and well cared for inside and outside. The beds were comfortable with soft sheets and cozy blankets.

The best part of the stay was meeting Bill and Louise -- they even came to watch one of our son's baseball games!

We'll be looking for a reason to go back to Wake Forest and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 64Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wake Forest
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh/Town Of Wake Forest
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Wake Forest Raleigh North
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
6.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Raleigh Northeast Wake Forest
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh Triangle Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Gate Inn

Property: Lions Gate Inn
Address: 238 North Main St, Wake Forest, NC 27587
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wake Forest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historical District of Wake Forest, North Carolina. Two blocks from Downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lions Gate Hotel Wake Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing