We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Rustic with the best hospitality ever experienced”
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mast Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2007

I want to preface my review with the caveat that this property is definetly a disconnect from reality experience. No Tv/Phone in rooms, no Tv in public areas. A great location for young singles/newlyweds,married couples looking for a romatic weekend getaway. My visit occured while on business in Boone.however there is wireless connection thru out the property and a vast library of classic novels/authors to enjoy. The restaurant was closed on my visit,I heard the food was delicious so sad could not experience.,Breakafast was filling,beautifully presented and delicious.
On to the hospitality...Danielle,Sandra,Goitanio(sp?)sorry..are the most generous and friendly hosts I have ever met in a B&B and I travel 200 nights/yr..and stay at B&B's about 30-50% of those nights,,,so I have witnessed varied levels of Hospitality/customer service.
They were all very inquisitive and asked my opinions of what a business traveller looks for in a B&B..I gave them my opinions..which they were receptive about Midweek,Corporate rates, Tv's Comp Wine service,,they really LOVE what they do and love to meet new people, I will return and reccomend to my Friends/Colleagues.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Scraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2007

Dear Scraggles,

As The Papa Bear of the little tribe at The Mast Farm Inn I cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our two daughters and son-in-law. You may be pleased to hear that Sandra and Danielle recently won the Oustanding Customer Service Award for 2007 from the Boone Chamber of Commerce. So you are very right, they do like people, they really do care about people, and care about helping them enjoy their visit to the area. They love the Inn for its rich heritage and tradition, and enjoy getting to meet the wonderful vistors which cross our paths. It is amazing how much you can learn when you listen to people so they enjoy discovering people, listening and learning. This type of enterprise is very hard work but it is equally rewarding and fulfilling. You have no idea how much we appreciate a thoughtful review such as yours from someone so experienced with stays at country inns and bed and brakfasts, which recognizes the true value, dedication and commitment of those three fine young people.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit.

Henri Deschamps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 482 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2007

I'm not sure where to begin. The weekend was one that we will never forget! Not only because we were married at the Mast Farm Inn, but that it was perfect! I must say that that is a word I don't use lightly but when it is true, I must confess. I would not have changed a thing. This was made possible by the Mast Farm Family and their amazing staff.

Our room and wedding ceremony site- the historic Loom House was magical. All of family's rooms- elegent and tastefully decorated. The food- excellent! The grounds- lovely! From the warm breakfast to the catering (Sweet Monkey Catering), and our wedding cake (Stick Boy Bakery) our pallettes were satisfied in every way. Planning the wedding was very smooth and Danielle worked with all of our requests without a pause. At the last minute we moved the reception inside the inn to accomidate for the 4inches of snow and the whole Mast Farm family took part in decorating and rearranging. It was perfect! Danielle and her family took every opportunity to go the extra mile for our family and friends to make this a weekend we could never forget. She even decorated our room with petals and candles and took care of our flowers and decorations making sure everything was packed for us with sweet notes. All of this was done with extreme sincerity. We look forward to sharing this special place with friends and family in the future.

Sincerely,
Lauren & Matt Lake

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank llake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2007

Dear Lauren and Matt,

We cannot thank you enough for dignifying us with your wedding and with the wonderful review we read here a few moments ago. I have to say weddings are very fulfilling events for a country inn and family such as ours because we really do feel every time as if we have made new friends. A wedding is such an important thing in peoples lives that we sincerely feel quite honored to be involved and do our best to treat the event with the profound respect it deserves. That is not corpo-marketing-speak, it is truly how we feel.

I have to say that if you found us perfect we also found you perfect and it is regrettable there is not a review site for guests as you would get a 5 in our book as well. You and your families were so gracious and level headed despite the mini-blizzard and we quite admired your fortitude. Weddings can be quite stressful affairs and when the weather gets involved is such a big way, some people lose it. Not you guys, you know how to roll with the punches and come out victorious. I guess life is like weddings, you plan and plan, and then it happens the way it happens. The trick is to dance on top of the flow, and you guys know how to dance.

We wish you the very best as you embark on this new chapter in your lives and from what we see of your bravery under fire, or is that bravery under ice, we are confident your future will be as bright as the crisp snow which graced us with its presence on your spring wedding day.

Thank you so very much for chossing our inn and family to share the second most important day of your lives. You will recognize the most important day as it will come accompanied by your first born child. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Mast Farm Inn Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

My family and I needed an escape from the Miami flatlands to some Hills during the Easter school break.

We travel a great deal out of the country and were looking
for a more American experience.

We stumbled upon this Inn through a friend of a friend who
had been there in the past, and contacted the hotel directly.

In learning that ownership had changed I was not sure
what to expect, but what we got was an amazing experience.

The Inn was purchased by a family only a year ago, they
had never run a property before, but i have to tell you they
are the nicest people you could ever meet.

They understand service and cleanliness.

There is a main house and several cabins. We toured the
main house on arrival and were really impressed by how
such an old (National Register) building could be so clean
and updated. It was beautiful, the rooms look very
comfortable!

We stayed in a cabin on the top of the hill, better so that
others did not hear my kids screaming when they went into
the outdoor Jacuzzi when the Easter snowstorm hit us all!
That is what made the whole thing special!

There was a wedding happening that weekend, and they
were planning on doing everything outside, of course that
was no longer going to happen in the Snow, so they moved
everything in and accomodated the other guests as well.

I travel 110 days per year for business, this is the first time
that i write a review, but it was such a special weekend, that
other folks deserve theres as well!

Lance, Miami

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LanceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Our Daughter was married at the Mast Farm Inn on April 7, 2007.
We live in Florida so it was a destination wedding. We had two months to plan the wedding and no chance to see the Inn before the wedding. We were depending on the Mast Farm to make it happen and work out all the pieces of the event through e-mail and telephone calls prior to the wedding weekend. Danielle Deschamp and her family who own the farm went above and beyond to make every detail perfect. They were willing to accommodate us in every way possible, making changes when necessary. Danielle was a dream to work with, she remained calm and very helpful thoughtout the entire process and weekend. Danielle and her sister Sondra handled all the set up, clean up, pick up, and put our minds to ease at every turn. Our wedding began on Friday evening with a cocktail reception. Saturday there was a rehearsal lunch and the wedding ceremony was at 5:30 on the porch of the Loom House with a dinner reception and dancing following. All thirty of our guest raved about the entire weekend. Comments included; warm and welcoming, beautiful place, excellent accomodations, unbelieveably delicious food, and a very friendly and helpful staff. Danielle suggested we use Holly West of Sweet Monkey Bakery as our caterer and I must say I was concerned since we didn't have a chance to do a tasting before the wedding. It turned out to be the most amazing food (every meal) we have ever eaten. Danielle's Mom is the breakfast chef and it was the best B&B breakfast we have ever experienced. We really can't say enough wonderful things about the Mast Farm and Danielle Descamps. The Mast Farm Inn is a must see destination and if you want a wonderful intimate wedding with ease of mind this is the place. Guest rooms and cabins are beautiful and well appointed. It felt like family. Our family is thrilled we chose to do our daughter's special wedding at the farm. We are glad we took Danielle's advice on many of the details that made the wedding unique and we are thankful we decide to use Holly West as our caterer for the weekend. We know this will be a wonderful memory for our daughter and son-in-law, forever.
A million thanks to Danielle, Sondra, Holly, and the Mast Farm family and staff.
Fondly, Deborah Garber

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank DebbieGTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

The room was nice but the Inn is right on a VERY busy highway. The Inn's photos go out of their way to lead you to believe you will be in a pristine, quiet, relaxing setting. Not true. It was VERY noisy... I was quite let down and would not recommend it to anyone.


  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VaMtnGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2007

Dear VaMtnGuy,

In reading your review entitled Way too noisy! we offer the following management response

While we regret your disatisfaction we find your statements highly inaccurate, misleading, and quite frankly simply untrue both in objective fact and subjective implication. In addition we would like to add that had you brought your disatisfaction with your lodging choice to our attention we would have immediately moved you to one of the more secluded rooms, cottages or cabins. We did not win our Region's "Outstanding Customer Service Award for 2007" by an uncaring attitude towards our guests. That does not mean we will accept (as so much cannon fodder) a misleading review by a disgruntled guest who may have arrived and left with an attitude or that we are willing to be indulgent as regards falsehoods.

While everyone is free to interpret a two lane country road as a busy highway, there are some objective mesurements and norms about what constitutes a VERY Busy Highway.

In objective mesurable fact The VERY Busy Highway you describe is a 18 foot wide (both lanes), narrow 2 lane country road, with a 25mph speed limit, which crosses the mountain village of less than 1000 inhabitants in which we are located. The traffic studies on the road show a flow of about 300-500 cars per 24 hour period except on weekends when it may increase or decrease depending on what is occuring in the area. We do not see how that can be qualified a VERY busy highway. The even moderately busy highways we know have about 500 cars a minute. We are in a mountain village 7 miles from the next mountain village and the closest gas station/convenience store/fast food is 9 miles away. Those folks know a busy highway when they see one, so until they show up, we will assume we do not rate that status.

While we are not out in the middle of a thousand acre forest, VERY Noisy is as exagerated a description as your VERY busy hyperbole above. Our property is on 10 acres of land in a highly pristine mountain valley.

In response to your comment ~ The Inn's photos go out of their way to lead you to believe you will be in a pristine, quiet, relaxing setting.~ We regret your trial and conviction of our alledged intentions. You might have read our website, and the other reviews here, and before making such an inaccurate claim. In objective fact we go out of our way on the website and here to very accurately describe the wide range of lodging and lodging setting options available at The Mast Farm Inn and have two pages dedicated to describing the differences between rooms in the main house, and rooms in the cottages and cabins. We also invite potential visitors on our website to contact us before selecting a room so we can best fit their needs.

On the page you went to on our website to select your room it says
~ Compare Features of The Main House Rooms: General Considerations: The third floor rooms tend to be quieter and more removed from the daily life of the inn, and there is a small parlor shared by the 3 rooms on the the 3rd floor. The second floor rooms are closer to the restaurant, parlor and inn lobby, and as such closer to the daily life at the Inn. Each Room, Cottage and Cabin at The Mast Farm Inn is truly unique, each is decorated differently, some are in the thick of the Inn's life, some are near the country road, some are secluded in the woods. By emailing us or calling us to share with us your preferences, and even the object of your stay, we can help closely match your needs to available lodging, as well as prepare any special "welcome home" surprises you and your party might enjoy. Cottages & Cabins are Also Available from $225 - $450 and offer a wide variety of lodging possibilities.

On the page describing the cottages and cabins it says
~ Compare features of Cottages & Cabins: General Considerations: The Loom House, Blacksmith Shop and Woodwork Shop along with the Barn are the oldest historical buildings of The Mast Farm Inn and are located in the central area of the property. The Loom house is often distinguished as the oldest inhabitable log cabin in North Carolina. They are a few feet from the main farmhouse and restaurant, close to Broadstone Road, a relatively quiet country lane, except in highest season where traffic can conceivably be an issue for guests who require more seclusion, who like to sleep very early or wake very late. Gazebo Cottage, Maple Spring Cottage, and Raspberry Hill Cabin are tucked in the pine forest hill of the Inn and offer a very quiet, serene, private mountain forest atmosphere. The Granary is across Broadstone Road adjacent to the Historic Mast Farm Inn Barn, and is very private, yet half-remote, and half-in-the-middle of things. All offer a special private rustic parking area for guests who prefer to drive rather than walk to and from the various areas of the property. The Loom House, Blacksmith Shop and Woodwork Shop are authentic historical structures renovated inside to provide modern amenities while retaining outside their authentic farm yard character. Although they preceded the main house by many decades they are in some respect now outbuildings of the main farm house and located in its farmyard. Gazebo Cottage, Maple Spring Cottage, and Raspberry Hill Cabin and The Granary while rustic North Carolina are more modern constructions with modern amenities. By emailing us or calling us to share with us your preferences, and even the object of your stay, we can help closely match your needs to available lodging, as well as prepare any special "welcome home" surprises you and your party might enjoy. Rooms in The Main Farmhouse are Also Available from $120 - $195 and offer a wide variety of lodging possibilities.

Some people want to be in the secluded cottages and cabins in the woods, others in the thick of things in the main house, which is effectively noisier than the woods but far from noisy. When people reserve we describe again those differences, when they check-in we show them how the house is busier and the cottages more secluded and offer them cottages when available, if they seek more solitude, at no extra cost. Half the time they prefer to be in the thick of things other times they prefer more seclusion. Sometimes people in the cottages prefer the more active pace of the main house. We have a wide variety of lodging settings and it is unlikely someone would not find something to fit their needs, if what they reserved does not match their expectations when they arrive.

While winter removes leaves, and their tendency to create hidden cubbyholes everywhere on the property, we are just as pristine in winter and if you are from Virginia we can safely assume you are used to those seasonal differences. Beyond that we wonder how so many can find our our inn a "pristine, quiet, relaxing setting", yet you see it as VERY Noisy on a BUSY Highway and communciate such disdain for its setting. Valle Crucis itself is nationally recognized by travel journalists and visitors as pristine, and it is North Carolina's first and only Historic Rural District, designated as such by the State Legislature.

We regret your stay did not match expectations, but it is impossible to please everyone every time, even less so if they do not take to time to let us know while here that they have a problem so we can fix it. We invite readers of this review to view the two pages on our site which describe the setting and the differences between each of the rooms and cottages before reserving, and to review the feedback and testimonials page accessible by clicking on the graphic on the left side of our home page, in order to form a more realistic opinion of our inn than this misleading review would lead you to deduce.

We also invite you to see the Valle Crucis website available our links page which shows our magnificent area in all its unspoiled glory. Be forewarned however that effectively automobiles, motorcycles, ATVs, trucks and tractors are now part and parcel of country life as horses and donkeys were in the past. And if one seeks peace and quiet, it is quite available at The Mast Farm Inn. Fun is also available as is the occasional noisy neighbor.

We thank you for your conbsideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank billandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrid33, Owner at The Mast Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
7.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
417 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
6.3 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
7.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: $122 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Mast Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing