We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving Experience”
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mast Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Our visit to the Mast Farm was magical. My husband and I, along with our adult daughters, were touched by all of the extra attention that was bestowed upon us by the special people who make the farm what it is. Their attention to detail and desire to make our stay unique and unforgettable was extraordinary. Along with the sheer beauty surrounding us in Valle Crucis came amazing accommodations that allowed us to experience the true flavor of North Carolina, one that will remain with us forever.

Highlights of our stay include, but are not limited to, taking the Blue Ridge Mountain curves in the Porsche speedster we rented from Henri of Club Ferdinand (available on-site at the farm), drinking French champagne while rocking in our chairs on the back porch overlooking an incredibly peaceful view, witnessing for the first time the sparkling dance of lightning bugs in the field after the sun went down, the luxurious bed and spa tub in our spacious upstairs room in the Granary (accentuated by beautiful music), and in the morning, what has to be the most delicious oatmeal ever!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sarah051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2008

As you approach the little community of Valle Crucis via a two lane country road you will find a cozy & beautiful place currently covered with spring flowers The Mast Farm Inn. When you walk into this historic house you are greeted by Sandra & Gaetano, who couldn't be friendlier and shown to your room where no keys are required, however; you do have the option of requesting one.
After you have checked in and grabbed your glass of Champagne which they serve at 5:30 you can head to the front porch where you can sit, relax and enjoy the fresh mountain air.
That evening we choose to dine at the Inn where the food is prepared by Maria, who uses family recipes and adds a southern flair to them. Every meal we had breakfast & dinner was delicious and fresh and to top it off each menu written daily by the former author/owner Henri who uses his creative talent to surprise you every time you dine. We did decide to dine one night away from the Inn at the Mtn. Tavern & Grille which I would NOT recommend. The food was mediocre at the Inn is far better than the Grille. So don’t waste your time driving there.
Overall if you are looking for a cozy, relaxing, no cell phone, and no computer mountain getaway…This is the place!!

Oh...by the way Henri if you read this I was very surprised you could not find anything on me. :)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msjennay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Delicious food, wonderful service, beautiful restful environment. Could not have been better. Also has excellent vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stilkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

What a gem! great location, service and accommodation. also hired a porsche for the day through them, great few days away. excellent staff make for a very individual break.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyhskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I were recently married at the Mast Farm Inn. We, as well as our family and friends, enjoyed wonderful service which included exceptional dining and to die for breakfasts! Our entire weekend was perfect, aside from the weather, but the staff went above and beyond to make this a truly special weekend that we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CharlotteAhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We were blown away by all the personalization and their attentiveness to detail. My husband and my parents and I all shared one of the cottages (we were given a free upgrade to Raspberry Hill), and truly enjoyed ourselves even though the weather was dismal and cold. They emailed a questionnaire before the visit and had a dog-eared, pre-highlighted booklet that had attractions and other things to do - we followed their advice and had several nice outings and we'd never been to the area before. The personalized menus were funny and charming, and I have a very restrictive diet that they worked with me on so I could have breakfast each day.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

The Mast Farm Inn exceeded all of my expectations for an outstanding Bed and Breakfast. As a frequent visitor of B and B's in this and other countries, I knew I had chosen the "right one" for my visit to the "high Country". I was upgraded to the Loom House upon my arrival because the hostess thought it would give more peace, serenity, and privacy for my weekend getaway as a single woman. It was absolutely wonderful! The attention to detail is very obvious. The friendliness and down-to-earth nature of all the people was very refreshing!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peditox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
7.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: $153 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Mast Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing