We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Bear is the BEST B&B in the NC Mountains!”
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Love, love, love this little piece of heaven on earth! Stayed at many B & B's before but this one is it!! When in the mountains of North Carolina we will never go anywhere else! Nature surrounds you in this beautiful log home with a cozy fireplace, comfy bed with drop your jaw views from your very own private deck. Wake up at your leisure because breakfast is cooked to order from 8:30 to 10:00, not like other places that tell you when breakfast is served. If you happen to be looking for a B & B in the Boone, NC area....we've tried them all and this one is the very best!

Room Tip: Actually there is no "fitness center" unless you include walking through the garden areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

We escaped the heat of South Carolina to enjoy the mountain air and recharge our batteries. We booked the Garden room at the Lazy Bear lodge. The room was very relaxing with great looking hard wood, a gas fireplace with electric switch, a jetted tub with separate shower, and one of the cushiest plush beds we ever slept in. We just melted into it.
They offer an ice machine which for those of you who have stayed in B&Bs before know that is a blessing. Each night they offered homemade cookies and fresh baked pie (yummy!). We were told to help ourselves to anything in the kitchen which was very nice.
Each night we opened our window and fell asleep to the sounds of crickets and a babbling brook.
In the morning we were treated to an awesome breakfast which includes a special (waffle one day and stuffed french toast the next for us) and a standard eggs, meat, toast, and hashbrowns. The chef/owner is very talented as reflected by the great taste and presentation. Every thing was prepared to perfection.
We watched the deer feed at dusk and were treated to scampering squirrels chittering at each other during breakfast.
Our favorite animals were Bo and Bella the resident porch puppies who made sure the guests are never lonely. They are the sweetest most well behaved dogs we have ever shared a B&B with.
All in all this place is the bomb. We debated reviewing it since we wanted to keep it for ourselves but we can't be greedy. Book early they book up fast especially in the fall.

Room Tip: Go for the Garden room for it's king sized bed and babbling brook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Terrific place to get away & relax! Anne & Mark are the most personable & friendly innkeepers around! The breakfasts are divine! Try the stuffed french toast - the best! If dinners are offered on the weekend, you definitely don't want to miss that. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean, spacious, relaxing & more than you would expect for the price. Anne & Mark are very helpful w/directions & recommending local sites & attractions. On-site massage room - would recommend! Great place all the way around and would not stay anywhere else in the area!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Happy2Travel_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our family (husband, wife, adult daughter) were searching for an Inn or Hotel, in the mountains, with a magnificent view, laid back atmosphere, away from crowds, but close to a population center with good restaurants, etc., fully expecting to be disappointed without a concentrated search and without prior search. Boy, were we wonderfully surprised. Located in Valle Crucis, just outside Boone, NC, we literally stumbled upon one on the most exemplary lodging experiences we have had in over 50 years of very extensive travel, The Lazy Bear Lodge. Three of their 5 rooms enjoy a breath-taking vista of the mountains (we took two). The lodge itself is an eclectic decorative experience - wonderful and unique touches everywhere - with comfort personified. We fell in love with Anne Winkleman, the owner, who could not have done more to make this a memorable experience - we left feeling we had gained a gracious friend. Breakfast was wonderful, with daily specialties, as well as standard fare. Bella and Beau, the resident pet dogs, were great fun. Staffing was perfect, the seclusion and gardens a treat - we could not have been more pleased. Five stars all around. Congratulations to Anne, Mark, and Company. Dr. and Mrs Gerald Caplan - Leslie Caplan from Savannah Georgia

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Lazy Bear Lodge lives up to all its great reviews. I found it here on TripAdvisor and had to try it as our first ever Bed and Breakfast stay when my husband requested a last minute getaway. Anne made us feel like family when we first walked in and she gave us a tour of the Lodge and our room, the "Lost Creek." We loved our own private porch overlooking the mountain and our own gas stove in the room for warming up both ourselves and my tea! Every detail was there from antique furniture, hand made soaps, super soft bath robes, comfy bedding and the cute laid back teddy bear posing on our bed pillow made me smile. Anne's chocolate chocolate chip cookies and brownies were a great snack before bed. My husband and I watched as 10 different types of birds ate from the large bird feeder hanging just outside while eating our delicious breakfast prepared by Mark. Our server was wonderfully enthusiastic at breakfast! Make sure to ask for some "mystery butter" for your toast! Yummy! Bo and Bella let us shower them with love when we missed our Kitty back home. Their gardens, Koi pond, hammock and porch swing make the property complete. Only got to stay one night this time, but with their great hospitality, amenities and location near so many local attractions like Boone, Grandfather Mountain, Linville Caverns and the original Mast General Store, we will definitely be back! Thank you Anne, Mark, Bo and Bella!
Jen and Roby, Charleston, SC

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goombah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We visited Lazy Bear Lodge for my birthday; Anne & Mark went out of their way to help make this a very special weekend. We stayed in the Black Bear Room and loved it. You can't go wrong staying here! Everything was perfect. Added touch was the fury creatures, birds & of course, Bella & Bo. We also enjoyed a wonderful, much needed & relaxing couples massage! Home away from home! We will be back as soon as we can! Sandra & Shane, Vidalia, GA

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

From the moment we drove up the winding, wooded driveway, we knew we were in for a treat of a lifetime. My two teenage boys, my husband and I spent three nights here and truly did NOT want to leave.
Anne and Mark are delightful hosts, catering to our every need with off the charts breakfasts, cozy accomodations and sure fire great suggestions on what to see and do in the area.
We loved getting to know the other guests during our stay and sharing laughter and stories on the porch out back while watching the flying squirels come in around 9 PM for the nightly feeding along the hanging feeders. Deer and wild birds were plentiful.
This was by far one of the most relaxing stays we've ever had as a family. Thank-YOU so much Anne and Mark for making our trip to the Boone area so memorable! We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
2 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mast Farm Inn
The Mast Farm Inn
#1 of 6 in Valle Crucis
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Address: 315 Lazy Bear Trl, Valle Crucis, NC 28692-8457
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: $145 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is a 2-story log cabin with 5 luxurious bedrooms, large comfortable porches, long range sweeping views, and plenty of privacy. The relaxing front porch overlooks a garden and sream, and is just steps away from convenient parking. Sweeping long-range views are found from the two story living room and back porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing