We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our family (husband, wife, adult daughter) were searching for an Inn or Hotel, in the mountains, with a magnificent view, laid back atmosphere, away from crowds, but close to a population center with good restaurants, etc., fully expecting to be disappointed without a concentrated search and without prior search. Boy, were we wonderfully surprised. Located in Valle Crucis, just outside Boone, NC, we literally stumbled upon one on the most exemplary lodging experiences we have had in over 50 years of very extensive travel, The Lazy Bear Lodge. Three of their 5 rooms enjoy a breath-taking vista of the mountains (we took two). The lodge itself is an eclectic decorative experience - wonderful and unique touches everywhere - with comfort personified. We fell in love with Anne Winkleman, the owner, who could not have done more to make this a memorable experience - we left feeling we had gained a gracious friend. Breakfast was wonderful, with daily specialties, as well as standard fare. Bella and Beau, the resident pet dogs, were great fun. Staffing was perfect, the seclusion and gardens a treat - we could not have been more pleased. Five stars all around. Congratulations to Anne, Mark, and Company. Dr. and Mrs Gerald Caplan - Leslie Caplan from Savannah Georgia

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Lazy Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

Lazy Bear Lodge lives up to all its great reviews. I found it here on TripAdvisor and had to try it as our first ever Bed and Breakfast stay when my husband requested a last minute getaway. Anne made us feel like family when we first walked in and she gave us a tour of the Lodge and our room, the "Lost Creek." We loved our own private porch overlooking the mountain and our own gas stove in the room for warming up both ourselves and my tea! Every detail was there from antique furniture, hand made soaps, super soft bath robes, comfy bedding and the cute laid back teddy bear posing on our bed pillow made me smile. Anne's chocolate chocolate chip cookies and brownies were a great snack before bed. My husband and I watched as 10 different types of birds ate from the large bird feeder hanging just outside while eating our delicious breakfast prepared by Mark. Our server was wonderfully enthusiastic at breakfast! Make sure to ask for some "mystery butter" for your toast! Yummy! Bo and Bella let us shower them with love when we missed our Kitty back home. Their gardens, Koi pond, hammock and porch swing make the property complete. Only got to stay one night this time, but with their great hospitality, amenities and location near so many local attractions like Boone, Grandfather Mountain, Linville Caverns and the original Mast General Store, we will definitely be back! Thank you Anne, Mark, Bo and Bella!
Jen and Roby, Charleston, SC

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goombah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We visited Lazy Bear Lodge for my birthday; Anne & Mark went out of their way to help make this a very special weekend. We stayed in the Black Bear Room and loved it. You can't go wrong staying here! Everything was perfect. Added touch was the fury creatures, birds & of course, Bella & Bo. We also enjoyed a wonderful, much needed & relaxing couples massage! Home away from home! We will be back as soon as we can! Sandra & Shane, Vidalia, GA

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

From the moment we drove up the winding, wooded driveway, we knew we were in for a treat of a lifetime. My two teenage boys, my husband and I spent three nights here and truly did NOT want to leave.
Anne and Mark are delightful hosts, catering to our every need with off the charts breakfasts, cozy accomodations and sure fire great suggestions on what to see and do in the area.
We loved getting to know the other guests during our stay and sharing laughter and stories on the porch out back while watching the flying squirels come in around 9 PM for the nightly feeding along the hanging feeders. Deer and wild birds were plentiful.
This was by far one of the most relaxing stays we've ever had as a family. Thank-YOU so much Anne and Mark for making our trip to the Boone area so memorable! We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Coming down to the Boone area from the hustle and bustle of the Northeast was a long awaited trip, and the Lazy Bear Lodge not only met, but exceeded our expectations. Anne and Mark have a way of making you feel like you are the only guests there. Their attention to detail, be it the wonderful breakfasts, relaxing and incredibly beautiful surroundings, the cozy rooms, their help in finding the right restaurants and activities...even their super-friendly dogs Bo and Bella...all add up to a wonderful experience. Stay here... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PA_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Where to begin! Ann's special waffles with strawberries for breakfast. Overlooking the mountains on your private porch with home-made cookies in the afternoon. Wandering through the flowers, koi pond, back yard garden/hammock. Sitting under the trees, listening to the birds. Ok, I'm back home and at work. Reality strikes. But, a week later our photo arrives with Bella and Bo. Ann you make the place. But don't tell anyone. Same room next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed at this lodge whilst exploring the blue ridge mountains and surrounding area it is truely the most wonderful place to stay. We did not want to leave and would have happily stayed for the reminder of our holiday. The views were amazing, the accomodation fabulous and so comfortable and the host so welcoming and friendly. We will definately be going back for a longer stay and recomending it to family and friends. Fabulous!!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank UKTraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
7.0 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
4.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
8.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
400 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Address: 315 Lazy Bear Trl, Valle Crucis, NC 28692-8457
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: $145 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is a 2-story log cabin with 5 luxurious bedrooms, large comfortable porches, long range sweeping views, and plenty of privacy. The relaxing front porch overlooks a garden and sream, and is just steps away from convenient parking. Sweeping long-range views are found from the two story living room and back porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing