We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1861 Farmhouse Market

1861 Farmhouse Market
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The sandwiches are very good but it costs way too much. We had two sandwiches and two drinks. Grand total $22. I also dont care for the fact that there appears to be no public restroom or anywhere to wash your hands.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ineedasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissScarlettO, Owner at 1861 Farmhouse Market, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Sandwiches at The 1861 Farmhouse Market are served on artisan bread that is baked fresh every morning. Every sandwich is made to order - completely custom. Every ingredient, down to the condiments, is of the absolute highest quality, and we are very particular about which local vendors we use to keep our standards high. We are not Subway. We are not fast food of any kind, and we do not have $5 sandwiches. Our sandwiches are about $8, and our drinks are $1.50. Tax is 6.75%. So yes, your order for two sandwiches with two drinks probably was about $20. We don't apologize for that. We, and thousands of our happy and loyal customers, feel they get what they pay for. We routinely hear "This is the best sandwich I have ever eaten!" And that is what we shoot for - not serving the cheapest sandwich is town. As for the bathroom situation, for this we do apologize, but we can do absolutely NOTHING about it. The Watauga County Health Department has forbidden us to allow public use of our bathroom. This is because the building and septic system are quite old, it is located right next the Watuaga River, and there is no where to go to expand the septic ystem for public use. If we could, we would, but we can't. Throughout the summer and into October when we have so many visitors, we do incur the expense of a porta-pottie for the convenience and comfort of our guests. As for seating, because there is no bathroom, the Health Dept. also does not permit us to have tables. However, just down the road at The 1861 Farmhouse Restaurant and Winery, our main store, you may dine in a 150-year-old restored Victorian Farmhouse, and use the clean and beautiful bathroom facilities. If you are worried about the price, you may view the menus at 1861Farmhouse.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Went to orignal Mast store and sailed over to this sweet surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We did our Mast General store visit and noticed the beautiful farmhouse practically across the street that mentioned a winery and restaurant. We decided to do the wine tasting for $7 that includes a souvenir wine glass. The section of farmhouse that holds the tasting room was all original brick and nicely decorated for dining guests. So, we decided to have a light meal and ordered their spinach salad. We tried 3 of their dressings and the apple vinaigrette was delicious. People we commenting on how good the pot pie and the shrimp and grits are. So, if you are in the area, go to Mast in Valle Crucis, then maybe give them a chance to Round out a perfect afternoon or evening with wine and food. Staff was very nice and informative.

Helpful?
Thank GatorPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped here after visiting Mast Farm Inn and had a wonderful lunch and wine tasting. Advising friends to have dinner there for wedding weekend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1861 Farmhouse - another mountain gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The 1861 Farmhouse is like going to Grandma's for dinner. Cozy tables with lace tablecloths and fine china. Very good wine selections and fresh food. We ordered the Jumbo Lump Crab Cake as an appetizer. We live on the East Coast so we wanted to see how "fresh" it would taste...it was Delicious! We had the Grilled Romaine Salad, the romaine leaves were seared with chopped veggies and a Dilled Bleu Cheese Dressing. Very different but so good! We both ordered the Fresh NC Mountain Trout, encrusted with fresh pecans and shared the banana pudding for desert. Both were Fresh & Delicious. Our server, Will was very helpful with wine selections & took good care of us. If you are not in a hurry and looking for a good fresh food meal try the 1861 Farmhouse & winery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill
Level Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great rustic atmosphere, incredible Charleston style shrimp and grits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great rustic atmosphere, food was delicious, wonderful Charleston style shrimp and grits, service was warm and friendly. We ate at a mediumly busy time and were well cared for. Price was a bit much, however for what you get, fairly priced. PS wine selections should leave no one without a pleasant drink.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1861 Farmhouse Market also viewed

Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to 1861 Farmhouse Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing