We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to poke around for unusual finds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: An old-fashioned country store with many unique items for sale.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun to poke around for unusual finds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This store has a lot of items you might see elsewhere, but not all together in one store, and some things I've only seen in catalogs. A lot of nostalgia items for baby boomers like certain candies or sodas, but also upscale home decor pieces. I found a 'survival' bracelet for my nephew and a twig crayon for my young niece. Nice stocking stuffers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    91
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Selections!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wide variety of interesting selections of General Store mdse. Hard to leave here w/o buying something; they have it all...and it is good quality, too!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rgdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Expected more " old timey " type products for sale, in keeping with the tradition of the store. Didn't expect so much candy. I did expect there to be expensive clothing there, (as I had heard of the particular brands that they sell there before my trip), which is why I didn't buy any. . Overall was just disappointed because I thought I would be able to walk in and purchase a unique item or two that you wouldn't be able to find anywhere else. Instead I walked out with a bottle of Dr.Bronner's soap and a couple of small bags of chocolate covered almonds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mfleming54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Don't drive by: STOP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It may look like, well it's nothing from the outside, but on the inside is history within. Go back in time to pop in the bottle and moon pies. Buy all the old favorite toys you shared as a child like sock monkeys, checkers, wood toys, lunch boxes, collectibles, kitchen ware including all iron skillets and accessories. Granite ware and then jump in to the next room for all your hiking gear and clothes. Continue on to shoes, boots and mens clothes, all top name brand. Step outback to the on sale schoolhouse and find bargins half price. There is hours of shopping and snacking fun at Mast Old General Store. You'll be glad you stopped.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice reminder of days of old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went with family who had been before so they knew the drill.. went to the back store with the shoe outlet (tried on and bought of course) then to the front outlet to the register to pay where I again spent money on an incredible jacket for $5! Yes $5 - they called it a dress but I bought it to be a jacket. Also loved the general store part with the candy, more shoes, post cards, and all kinds of cool things one might love to have. Bought candy, of course, shared in the car, eating sugar we didn't need but loved!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJLeoOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing