We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step into the past”
Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: An old-fashioned country store with many unique items for sale.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A step into the past”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a very nice trip to The Mast General Store. The setting and building were very enjoyable. All of the old time items, foods, shoes, walking sticks and candy were wonderful. When we arrived there was a Bluegrass group playing in the store adding to the ambiance of the building. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and you just can't help it but to smile and enjoy yourself while you are inside.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AandC-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    102
    24
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So cool must see”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

So cool a back in the day mercantile several in the town one is called candy barrel yummy lots lots of old time candy sold from barrels sold by the lb also another store just down the road with everything plus a bottle of soda pop for a dollar and if you want you can sit on the porch and swing and drink and look at the mountains ;)

Helpful?
Thank cabinfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat old place”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was just a cool, old store. They have lots of stuff of course, but the neatest part was the store itself: the creaking wood floors, the old merchandise on the shelves, the working post office, the mountain music band playing, the down home atmosphere. This is a must see for this area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,732 reviews
867 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 788 helpful votes
“What a fabulous shop!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

When I saw this store listed as an area attraction I must say that my initial thoughts were that it would be a tacky, over-commercialized rip-off. I am pleased to report that I was completely wrong.
The first thing to note is that there is no entrance fee - this is a shop, and you only pay for any purchases you might make, and I defy you not to want to buy something! The range of goods is huge and stretches from moth balls and penny candies to rocking chairs and pot-bellied stoves.
In my view the owners have got the balance of trade absolutely right here and have manage to create a vibrant and interesting retail outlet while retaining that old "country store" ambience.
When we visited a local band was playing bluegrass music on the back porch while an appreciative audience lounged on a wonderfully miss-matched assortment of old benches, chairs and rockers. Absolutely timeless.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Mast General Store has been operating since 1883. It's a great place to visit if you're in the area! You can find snacks, gifts, candy (Zots!!!), books, great rocking chairs (my mom bought 2 from here last year), and all kinds of other things! It can be crowded, but it's worth the stop. Oh, and it's a great place to buy honey.

Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
 
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing