We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helpful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had driven the Blue Ridge Parkway from Asheville, so I was less than thrilled with the very narrow, very curvy Rt. 194 from Banner Elk. We left going toward Rt.105 which was a much more pleasant drive.

The owner offered us a free upgrade when we arrived. We had reserved the Flower Cottage, a free-standing small building. It was very pleasant with a queen bed. The bathroom was small with only a shower stall. Room 5 in the main house was larger, brighter, had a king bed and a wonderful view of the valley.

The innkeepers made dinner reservations for us, printed directions, and helped carry luggage. The only disappointment was the breakfast. It was all right, but not real special: tapioca pudding and fruit, juice, processed ham slices, and white toast. The cheese omelet was very good.

It is a very pretty place with a large front porch and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouSlowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    41
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
179
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife & I had the great pleasure to stay here for 2 nights, 11-2 & 11-3 2013.Tessa & Bernard are wonderful Host. The Inn is so warm and inviting, the food was delicious and we were treated like royalty during our stay. We both highly recommend the Taylor House Inn as the place to stay when in the Boone area. I know we will return again to recharge our lives and enjoy all the Taylor House Inn and Valle Crucis has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We absolutely loved our weekend getaway at the Taylor House Inn. Bernard and Tessa, the innkeepers, were warm and very accommodating; The house was historic and charming; the food was delicious; and Valle Crucis is just beautiful. It was just lovely. :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a pleasant find in the Taylor House Inn! Nestled between the Appalachians and the Blue Ridge parkway on the scenic route 194, this grand manor was the perfect spot to overnight on our way back to Memphis. Bernard and Tessa were wonderful hosts - truly accommodating and very multi-culti! It was an extreme pleasure to stay with them. The little red cottage was cosy and comfy! Just perfect and accessible for the elderly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buurtschap2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in 4 bed & breakfasts during this vacation and the Taylor House Inn was by far the best! Beautiful setting and Tessa & Bernard were great hosts! We highly recommend it and we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CECS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tessa's breakfasts are to die for, French breakfasts in Valle Crucis! Unexpectedly, maid service is provided. The gardens and grounds are peaceful and lovely. Serenity is within reach! Tessa and Bernard provided for our every need: directions, sight-seeing information, and friendly attention. They are dear people.

Room Tip: The second floor offers lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SedOna1997BestDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a beautiful Inn. Being my first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast, I really didn't know what to expect. Taylor House is such a beautiful place. We were upgraded to a wonderful room, very spacious, comfortable bed, nice linens, and a bathroom big enough for two!..Our bedroom window was left open for us and we enjoyed the cool mountain breezes as we drifted to sleep! The breakfast was out of this world! We enjoyed meeting the other visitors and having wonderful conversation with them. The food was 5 star as well as the wonderfully appointed china and place settings. I only hated that we did not book for 2 nights. We will certainly come back again!Thank you Taylor House Inn for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aunt Peggy's room I believer, decorated in yellow and white, king size bed, wicker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
8.9 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
7.8 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mast Farm Inn
The Mast Farm Inn
#1 of 6 in Valle Crucis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Property: Taylor House Inn
Address: 4584 NC Hwy 194 S, PO. Box 618 (Valle Crucis 28691), Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taylor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taylor House Inn is a Bed & Breakfast and is also known for offering romantic getaways, hosting fabulous family reunions, corporate retreats and some of the best weddings in Valle Crucis. With the majestic surrounding valley scene, it is the perfect place to spend some quality time as well as to host an outdoor event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taylor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing