We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress”
Review of Ruby Slipper - CLOSED

Ruby Slipper
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Work in progress”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have eaten at Ruby Slipper at least three times with consistent results. The food is always tasty and well done but the service is spotty, at best. The owner is a very nice person and trying to improve the quality of the experience. The soups are admirable are the specials, from my perspective. Now, if the service can improve, I won't be so frustrated when I leave as I 'd like to see this place make it. The owner is just that nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reinvented and needs to step up their game”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There were many things wrong in the first few months of this restaurant, and all could be fixed for a little attention to detail and not much money. They closed for four months and are now opening again. If they fix the basics, they might make it this time. They need to serve full meals, not appetizers, train their wait staff properly, label the beers by type, not just cute names and serve some meat dishes. People go out for dinner, not tapas and gelato. After a snack and dessert where were they supposed to go next in Tryon? This time operate it like a real restaurant, not a hobby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank savageone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming but needs to work on the food/service”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely charming interior and owner who is trying so hard to please her diners. The menu is varied from pasta, soup,salad,seafood. Had the seafood grilled mixture: it didn't seem "grilled" and the sauce seemed to be the same alfredo sauce that was served on other diner's pasta. Heard other diners complaining that their food was cold or tepid when served. If the plates are cold before use they might be warmed before putting food on them, especially in the chilly weather. The home-made gelato is fantastic. This restaurant has struggled since opening due to town's major construction on the plaza where the café is located. Gaping holes and barriers scared off potential patrons. That shouldn't have happened. to new business that has just opened and is trying hard. People want to see them succeed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoyalE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Eatery”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been twice to enjoy the a wonderful new choice to our small town. The atmosphere is fun and chic. Our server both times was savvy and attentive. The menu is creative but seems to be a work in progress. They are trying to find a niche in a very difficult town to make it. Pizza and subs are the only success story in town. We left feeling we had a great meal without having to drive to AVL or GSP. Try it and make up your own mind.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank affairtoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, NC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This new restaurant in Tryon is very nicely done, lots of atmosphere, in a newly renovated building. Could be a wonderful place to eat or go for a drink. Had dinner with a friend, and to say the least, everything was terrible. Our server was not well informed about the wine choices, but we still made a good choice on our own. When he brought the wine, he opened the bottle but did not pour the wine - he just walked away. We ordered the ravioli which was bland and had a weird pumpkin sauce. The zuchini and squash veggie side was overcooked and mushy. We had the stuffed flounder which was also bland. The whole experience was very disappointing. Will not go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DinaColumbus_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Slipper also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing