We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best coffee within the county” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Openroad Coffee - MOVED

Openroad Coffee
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The best coffee within the county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The coffee is organic fair trade, absolutely the best strong, not acidic brew. A sweet setting by the brook right off the road, stop by and sit in the sun or inside with good jazz playing and good pastry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sufoto828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very good coffee with interesting space. The raspberry scone was delicious and there were more excellent choices to eat. My only complaint was that they did not have sweeteners beyond honey, sugar and Stevia. Kind of limited for a diabetic.... The people were friendly and kind and, overall it was a very good experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What would we do without this place?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

A first-rate coffee shop. Fun atmosphere and a great selection or drinks and baked goods. A community gathering spot. This sleepy county was in need of a great-quality place like Openroad. We are SO lucky to have such a quality establishment in our rural area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MontereyMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee and....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great mid-day stop. Coffee and... Brownie or scone or carrot cake or whatever else is in the pastry case. Comfortable, affordable and convenient location. All that and nice people too. Who could ask for more?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcullensc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This shop is a true, artisanal coffee community.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a Polk County native and an avid coffee lover, for years I have dreamed of having a quality coffee shop in our small town. I used to have to travel to Asheville, NC on the weekends to find a tasty, organic, fair trade coffee. Now it's right down the road from my office, so I get to enjoy it several times a week! The owners and staff are outstanding! The shop fosters a true sense of community... it's nice to be able to stop in where "everybody knows your name" and enjoy some conversation around a good cup of coffee (or tea). The pastries are wonderful too. Everything is hand-crafted, artisanal and quality. You could not ask for more!

Helpful?
Thank holmes3strandcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Openroad Coffee also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing