We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place! Beautiful and elegant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1906 Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pine Crest Inn is a beautiful Inn in a lovely setting. Whenever I stay there for business I promise myself that I will return simply for the pleasure of it. The Inn is a Select Registry Inn, and the décor, service and overall experience are indicative of this. The rooms and grounds are immaculate, the service is impeccable and the food is always exceptional. When I stay at this Inn, I never want to leave! Spectacular in every season - late spring is stunning with the trees and flowers in bloom and late October is absolutely gorgeous. I listed the pool and spa as excellent since as a guest I have had access to the pool at the Tryon Country Club.

Room Tip: Oak Cottage, Stone Cottage, Twain Cottage and Swayback Cabin are my favorites! I especially love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveboonenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a week of staying in noisy Inns, we sought refuge in a quiet retreat. We booked two days at the Pine Crest and it was wonderful! The grounds are beautiful, area very quiet, and the Woodcutters cabin where we stayed was nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed, large modern bathroom with dual sinks, jacuzzi tub and separate shower. A wonderful place to just relax, forget everything, and take in the lovely surroundings by sitting on the porch and rocking away the time. A quaint, well kept gazebo is also available for relaxing and enjoying a good book or chat. Breakfast was plentiful, tasty but only a bit better than average Inn fare with the time arranged in advance. Afternoon cookies and tea were excellent. Staff keeps busy but is cheerful and most accomodating to your every request. Parking is close and convenient. As an additional option, guest can choose to have dinner at the Pine Crest (prearranged time). The dinners were extraordinarily plentiful, but below average quality, and pricey. Each night, three different entree choices are provided. The first night I had chicken (you get half a chicken). The second night, I ordered NY Strip Steak. The size of the steak was equivalent to a family sized meatloaf and just as thick. It was cooked to order but contained more gristle than it should have for the price (over $30). Appetizers are more than big enough for 2-3 people and were tasty. Service in the Inn restaurant was very good. Overall, the food quality is OK but the prices are high for the quality of food at dinner.

Room Tip: Entire area is quiet. Woodcutters cottage was very quiet and away from parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VF0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were visiting relatives in Asheville and decided to give this inn a try. We found the location quiet and charming and the staff was exceptional. We stayed in the Dogwood Room and loved it. The quality of the breakfast was outstanding as well. Would certainly recommend the Pine Crest to anyone who's anywhere near the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willcinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My recent visit to Tryon, North Carolina was highlighted by warm hospitality, gracious service and the beautifully appointed Treetop Cottage at the 1906 Pine Crest Inn. This cozy Country Inn is the perfect spot for a weekend getaway. We arrived late Friday afternoon to a delicious assortment of gourmet cheeses and our favorite wine. Relaxing on the porch of the Treetop Cottage, with the beautiful flower gardens in our view, was the perfect start to a lovely evening.
Saturday morning breakfast was truly a treat with banana walnut pancakes and applewood smoked bacon. All day Saturday we visited antique shops in neighboring Landrum, SC and hiked to the 20ft water fall at Pearson Falls. I highly recommend this hidden treasure to all looking for a quiet place to unwind and reconnect or to see the beauty of the fall foliage . Don't forget to bring your camera and a lite sweater also for the cool nights on the porch.

Room Tip: The Treetop Cottage was perfect, but when we toured the other rooms and cottages they were equally a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

For a Select Registry Inn, we were a little surprised at how poorly kept our room was. The overall grounds of the inn are nice. However, our room was outdated. We were in the Oak Room. The lamps in our room are very cheap & the couch needs to be thrown away. We didn't even feel comfortable sitting on it, and the blanket that was draped over the couch didn't smell clean at all. There were spider webs in several corners as well. There was also a fixture in the bathroom that had apparantly been removed, but the screws were left visible in the wall. We also chose to eat dinner at the inn. This was also a mistake. First of all, it's very overpriced. We both got the NY Strip. I asked for mine to be cooked medium. It came back almost well done and the steak had no flavor. Prior to dinner, we were supposed to receive a complimentary glass of wine or sherry between 5-6. No one offered us anything & we didn't see anything out other than some iced coffee and tea. The best thing about this inn for us was the breakfast and the coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Pine Crest. It isn't extravagant, but nice. The bathroom shower and tub could be updated. The breakfast menu is very limited unlike other bed and breakfasts that usually give you a few options. I didn't eat anything because I didn't like the only option available. Overall, the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabbysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We happened upon the Pine Crest Inn at the end of a long rainy day of car trouble in the humid south. We were hours from our planned destination at the end of the day so we drove into Tryon and found the Pine Crest Inn. We had our five year old grandson with us and he loved the gardens with the fireflies (first he had ever seen) and peaceful cats who let him follow them around after breakfast.

The main building is surrounded by cottages of different configurations to suit any number of travelers. Breakfast was delicious. The desk person was more like a personal concierge who showed us around and made us feel very welcome. I know the facility is used for small conferences so it could have groups staying there but on the Monday that we were there (6/17) it was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Tell them what you are looking for and let them help you choose. If you have children you may not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5anan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryon
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
236 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
333 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
791 reviews
6.0 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Address: 85 Pinecrest Ln, Tryon, NC 28782-3486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range: $145 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing