We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1906 Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The rooms were nice, but our main motivation for selecting Pine Crest over somewhere closer to Asheville was the restaurant and wine selection. The food was mediocre. Our waiter at dinner had no knowledge of the menu. There was a large wine selelction, but our waiter informed us that the staff did not try the wine and was uanble to assist us in a selection. The staff was overwhelmed at breakfast and our food arrived as we were getting up to walk out. I didn't feel the need to complain because plenty of other tables were taking care of that. There are plenty of places just as nice closer to Asheville with the benefit of being able to conveniently take advantage of downtown Asheville.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_6065721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our weekend stay at the Pine Crest Inn. The only negative thing I have to say is that we could not stay longer! We arrived late Friday afternoon and checked in to the Windsor Room in the English Cottage. The Windsor Room is beautiful and has been renovated since the current photos on the website. The room had a king bed, sofa, fireplace, reading nook with wingback chair, and large bathroom with coffeemaker and small fridge. The room was just lovely. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch of the cottage lounging in the rocking chairs. The grounds are beautiful--flowers blooming everywhere. We did eat dinner at the inn on Friday night. This was an amazing meal. I had trout, my husband had filet. As for breakfast, it is difficult to describe how amazing breakfast is and the menu changes daily. Both mornings we were greeted with fruit plates that also had a pastry. I had a frittata the first morning and the second morning I had a shrimp and crabmeat omelet--out of this world! You have different choices for omelets, eggs, or waffles or pancakes, breakfast meat, home fries or grits (try the grits--I have never eaten grits that were this good), and breakfast breads. Other nice extras include turndown service with chocolate and late afternoon port and sherry with snacks. The inn is within walking distance of the town of Tryon. Try the homemade gourmet ice cream at Simple Simon. We also enjoyed the hike to Bradley Falls.
The staff here all go out of their way to provide whatever service/assistance you need. Everyone was professional and friendly. This was our second stay at the inn and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed in the main house, and it was like being guests in our own home. The common area decor of the main house is that of an historic 18th century property. Our room decor was elegant 18th century, but comfortable. Our hostess in the main house went out of her way to make us feel at home. The surroundings are quiet and peaceful. We spent considerable time on the porch absorbing the tranquility and pleasant view. The breakfast is a very full breakfast, but you can eat less. The evening meal we had, was only average to above average. There is a distinct attitude of giving that separates this from most places you will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elainechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

The staff at the Pine Crest Inn, Tryon, N.C. could not be nicer. They ALL go out of their way to see that you are comfortable, all needs are met and that you have a wonderful stay at their inn. The restaurant has an extended, unique menu and each meal is more delicious than the next. The chef is very creative and comes out to greet guests at each meal to get your feedback. Everyone, from the guest services receptionist to the housekeeping staff, are friendly and always asking what they can do to make your stay more enjoyable. We have stayed at this inn on many occasions, and each room is uniquely different with its own personality. It pays to try the different rooms - especially during different seasons! Be sure to get the fireplace rooms in the winter months and ones with views of the gorgeous gardens during spring and summer! For the price, the excellent amenities, quality food and superb staff - this inn cannot be beat! This is also a very safe, family oriented environment if Moms or Caregivers need a respite alone. The town of Tryon and nearby towns such as Landrum and Saluda are wonderful and safe little towns to visit and enjoy as well.
Y.Almeida
Greenville, SC

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vonalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Enjoyed the warmth of the cottage we stayed in and especially the main building - the fireplace was glowing and the Fox & Hound was very comfortable. The food was particularly outstanding. Staff was courteous, but gave us privacy when we wanted it. I look forward to returning when the grounds and landscaping are in full-bloom.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlueRidgeGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We continued our fall trip through the Tennessee and North Carolina mountains and discovered this charming B&B, about 45 minutes outside of Asheville. We heard about this property from a couple we met while touring the Biltmore, and decided to give it a try. Boy are we glad we did!! (Thanks Steve and Jane!) My wife and I both enjoy red wines, and were told that Pine Crest hosts a weekly wine society, where friendly locals come to enjoy an amazing wine list and excellent food. We couldn't have picked a better flight, as the theme was Cabs from Australia. We sampled 5 different cabs and bought several bottles to take with us. For dinner we had filet and duck entrees, both were EXCELLENT. The staff was extremely friendly (Thanks Carl and Linda!) and helped us plan a great weekend. At their suggestion we visited Pearson's Falls, a beautiful nature walk and waterfall about 10 minutes from the Inn, and enjoyed a hike at FENCE, the local equestrian nature center. Our accommodations were very clean and comfortable (we stayed in small cabin with a large jacuzzi and fireplace) and the entire weekend was very peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely return next time we get back up to the Carolinas!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoaBeachCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We wanted to express our gratitude here, after having read some negative reviews, for the wonderful hospitality shown to us at the Pine Crest Inn this past November. We want everyone to know that our experiences there couldn't have been better, and we suspect the authors of those reviews must be people you just can't please!

Since we've recently retired, we were elated to finally be able to travel last year, escape the crowds of South FL, and see the beauty of the NC mountains! The staff at the Pine Crest Inn were so helpful in pointing us in the direction of fun things to do, and breathtaking hikes in the mountains. It was a little challenging hiking to some of the more remote waterfalls, since we're out of shape and used to flat land, but well worth it! They were just spectacular!

We also thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting one evening that the innkeeper held in one of their two dining rooms. He has assembled a fabulous wine program and his passion for wine was obvious as he guided us through the wines, sharing both education and excitement along the way. We stayed for dinner after the wine tasting and found the food and service to be equally wonderfully. As an example, my wife ordered a dish but asked to have a different sauce used instead of what was on the menu. Our server checked and said the kitchen would be happy to accommodate us. Not only was the substitution excellent, the chef came out during dessert to inquire if she had met our needs. She did and then some!!!

Our accommodations at The Pine Crest Inn couldn't have been nicer either! The room was extremely clean, the furnishings and décor were very tasteful and comfortable, and when combined with the fabulous customer service, we felt like we were truly being pampered! Now that's what a vacation is supposed to be like! Thank you to everyone at The Pine Crest Inn…not only will we be back, but our friends and family will no doubt be visiting soon too!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryon
12.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
11.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
511 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
7.8 mi away
The Red Horse Inn
The Red Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in Landrum
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Address: 85 Pinecrest Ln, Tryon, NC 28782-3486
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range: $150 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing