We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend at Pine Crest Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1906 Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend at Pine Crest Inn”
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We were looking for a quick weekend getaway and came across the Pine Crest Inn on the Internet. Although they are only about 20 minutes from our summer home, we felt like it was another world. We had nothing but wonderful experiences during our stay, from the ambiance of the room (Windsor) with a cozy fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and one of the most magnificent beds we have ever slept in, to the exceptional service and hospitality at the front desk and from the innkeeper, to the quiet and picturesque grounds and country setting, to the wonderful afternoon tea, evening port & sherry, and again, the exceptional customer service! The complimentary sodas and water in the mini-fridge were a nice surprise also. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated and felt absolutely sumptuous after a day of hiking waterfalls in the area and nearby Chimney Rock Park and Lake Lure. So many fun and interesting things to see and do in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains.

We arrived late the first night so we didn't get to have dinner and what a mistake that was. Saturday night we ate in the Pine Crest's dining room and had a wonderful experience. The menu was a delightful blend of classic choices such as Fillet Mignon, fresh seafood (Black Carolina Grouper, Atlantic Grilled Salmon, & NC Mountain Rainbow Trout on this night) and some very creative dishes (an organic quail/chicken/turkey roulade). I ordered the Black Angus Fillet Mignon (MR of course) and it may have the most tender, flavorful piece of beef I have ever eaten. My husband had the grouper and it was perfectly cooked with a delightful sauce and an array of beautiful fresh vegetables. The service was excellent and the wine list was the largest I've ever seen and we selected a nice bottle of Syrah, but their selection of single-malt scotch was what really impressed us. My husband loves great scotch and found several selections he hadn't seen anywhere else.

I highly recommend the Pine Crest Inn! It is a remarkably pleasant change from the ordinary. We hated to leave and most definitely will be back!!

  • Liked — Quiet country setting, excellent restaurant and customer service
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Here2BePampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
90
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We selected the Pine Crest Inn as the location for our 7 day intensive training because of its casual elegance, great food, and quiet serene setting. It is an unusual property because of their ability to provide conference center amenities in the Inn-like setting. It was a phenomenal experience. We were so taken care of; we could just attend to the training which went perfectly. Every staff member was kind and authentically interested in serving our needs. Unusual requests were always met with a “Yes”.

The food was delightful and varied enough to not get boring due to our longer stay. It was fun to walk into town at lunch and the Inn provided a list of quality places to eat in the area. We had dinner 3 of the 4 evenings that the restaurant was open. Each dinner was one “moaning” experience after another! Chef Amanda came to our table each evening to check on us. She is a delightful and grounded woman who is not only a well trained chef, but adds Joy to every meal with her enthusiasm. She really has a way with vegetables; the sides were varied and extremely tasty.

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, with wonderful linens. The property was not in “perfect” condition, but you could tell that they were in the process of many repairs that must be constant on a 100 year old property with many buildings.

The location of the Inn on a hill side older neighborhood gave us plenty of easy and wonderful walking opportunities.

We loved our experience and are planning future trainings at the Pine Crest!!

  • Liked — Quiet beautiful setting
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PossibilitiesTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Internet did not work; they did not care. We were asked to reserve a time for breakfast, but they made us wait thirty minutes when we arrived on time; told us to have coffee in the living room, but the coffee urn was empty. Thirty minutes later, they sat people who just walked in while we were still waiting. They promised our room would by cleaned by 1pm, but it had not been touched when we came back at 3pm. Need I go on? They just kept apologizing, very nicely, but fixed absolutely nothing. don't go there if you expect any kind of service or amenities. A large tour group on the second day caused us to have to wait again a long time for breakfast. Again, lukewarm coffee, dried out toasts,etc...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The setting is well kept but our lodging seemed overpriced. One little thing that bugged me was that things were advertised that simply never happened. For example, they say that ice tea and cookies will be put out everyday in the afternoon--and that didn't happen. They advertise a Sunday brunch that didn't happen. The staff was very friendly and they gave us a late checkout which was very helpful. The food was tasty. However, i just didn't have that cozy feeling i have had at some B & B's and there is little to do on the property itself.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lamajuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I spent the weekend of our anniversary at this inn and
it was a disappointing experience. The staff are all lovely and we mostly received good service, but the inn fell short in a number of ways. When we booked our reservation for one of the packages, we were
given a room in a deluxe class but were downgraded when we arrived and were not given a proper explanation of the change. We were told that the other room had a problem but that we couldn't have it back because other guests were staying in it, which makes you wonder if the problem really existed if others could stay in the room. I think they were avoiding telling us that we weren't entitled to the original room we were given because of the package, but they should have honored the room confirmation they emailed to us. The room we were given was fine, but from the beginning, it just made us feel like we weren't being told the whole story. One serious problem was the bathroom shower, which had ants come out of it and the water ran from boiling hot to freezing cold no matter what you did to try and regulate it.

The reason we chose the Pine Crest Inn was for the food and the awards it had won, and we found the dining experience very mediocre.
The dinner menu was not seasonally appropriate for hot summer weather, and the entrees were prepared in a very heavy, old-fashioned
style. It was not innovative or particularly well-executed. Breakfast is two courses and not three as advertised, and it was plain and rather greasy fare. The "champagne" we got with the package was undrinkable.

The setting of the inn is pleasant. They have a great movie collection. The people are very kind. There are some positives, but overall, this was not a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekc5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

This is not your typical Bed & Breakfast where you may stay in a room within a house. It actually has a number of buildings that make up the property. Some of the buildings have homes with two or three bedrooms. Some of the buildings have been sectioned off into multiple units per building. There is a very nice stone cottage and a couple of log cabins that provide a number of different lodging experiences.

I stayed in the Woodcutters lodge which was a two bedroom unit with a separate living room area with comfortable recliners and a couch. It had a TV & VCR along with a small refrigerator. It also had a couple bathing options. There was a shower and a two-person Jacuzzi tub. This would be a great rental for a family of four or for a honeymoon stay.

I had a late check-in, so I was given directions to where I could pick up my key. They also had an outside phone to get in contact with the innkeeper if I had any questions. The key came with a very nice map of the complex with my location highlighted and a nice welcoming letter with an explanation of what to expect. The path to my lodge was well lit and the outside and living room lights were turned on making me feel well at home.

The breakfast was great there were a number of standard suggested arrangements as well as the willingness to cook the breakfast any way desired. Breakfast was served in a English tavern style restaurant setting in the main building. Their web site gives you a good idea of what to expect for the rooms and restraint options available.

I ended coming at a great time. The trees were all changing colors, so the view through the mountains was great. I made a few day trips Asheville is a short distance to the north as well as the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway. On a short drive to the south we went to Spartanburg SC for a downtown park walk and visited a number of unique shops along the way. Castle Rock park is a short ride away with some great views and some great walking trails. That park also has some periodic events for the whole family. I also had an unexpected bonus the week that I stayed at the Pine Crest Inn. The Tryon Arts Society was able to get the Vienna Boys Chior for a performance. They did have to move it to the largest facility in the county at the local high school. This was amazing for a community of its size.

In all a great stay at the Pine Crest Inn, great service and selections from the Inn, restaurant, and staff. Combine that with a number of additional things to do, made for a great vacation stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere - quiet and beautiful surroundings
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Pia-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryon
12.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
13.4 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
6.0 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Property: 1906 Pine Crest Inn
Address: 85 Pinecrest Ln, Tryon, NC 28782-3486
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing