We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Lake Norman State Park
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Troutman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lake Norman State Park is a free park with hiking trails, bicycling, boat launch, camping and a beach for families. It's a great place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaB9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very clean, quiet and great for hiking with kids!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our youngest,a 10yr old, for an easy day of hiking. We chose the Lake Shore trail and we meandered for a couple of hours. The terrain was up and down, not enough to hurt you afterwards but just enough to make you break a sweat. Our daughter, who would rather play video games all day long, had a terrific time. There were several pamphlets available to entice her to look for various animals, trees, hidden objects, etc. She had a great time and is already asking when can we go back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well maintained and patrolled by rangers without being controlling.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This park is well taken care and seemingly well loved by everyone. There are plenty of trails for walking,hiking and biking. Campsites open from March through November. I beach with nice changing facilities. The concession has not been open on the various times we've visited. Oh, and canoe and paddle boat rentals too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Xaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice family retreat especially in the summer. This is the kind of place you can take your family for a picnic and a day for no money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as cool as advertised”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was rather disappointed by this experience. The beach was a tiny "fenced" off area and you had to pay to use the water. The only good part was that there were lifeguards watching constantly. While the refreshment stand served Pepsi, snacks, and a few types of ice cream, they did not accept credit or debit cards--BRING CASH!! I would not recommend wasting your time here, unless you absolutely have nothing else left to do in North Carolina. (Hint: Your time may be better spent visiting Freedom Park, Grandfather Mountain State Park, or the Blue Ridge Parkway.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbdarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Norman State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Norman State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing