We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”

Carolina Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Topton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We usually rent Kayaks from NOC but they were full. Unlucky for us. After making reservations at Carolina Outfiters we were so looking forward to riding the single kayaks. Well when we got there my spouse over heard employees talking about having to get the singles and doubles out. Few minutes later we were told water level to high for singles. When we were dropped off at river many other companies still were using single kayaks. One of the tour guides suggested we ask for discount tickets on our next visit so we did. Carolina Outfitters did change our price to a raft price but would NOT give any type of discount. Sad for them! We usually go kayaking couple times a year but will NEVER rent from them again. Also the wait to get back to the facility was awful. They would not take us back to facility until whole school bus full. To make a long story short rent from NOC!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeannLikesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreKay2014, Guest Relations Manager at Carolina Outfitters, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Customer safety and enjoyment is the highest priority on any of our rafting adventures.
There are water level related guidelines for outfitters on the Nantahala River that have been in place for 25+ years. Those guidelines are based on the knowledge and skills of reasonable and prudent outfitters that take into consideration the different type of watercraft, different trip types, different river conditions, and different rapids at varying water levels on the river. For the safety and enjoyment of our guests, in rainy weather we keep a good check on current water levels, and we adhere to those well established guidelines. The most important issue to keep in mind here is that we want our guests to be able to return home, and to be able to return home in good condition.
The desk staff appropriately reduced the price of the ducky trip to that of a less expensive rafting trip. After we discontinued the ducky rentals, ducky guests had a choice to choose the less expensive rafting trip at a lesser cost, or to not go rafting that day. Full refunds were an option for pre-paid ducky guests.
We pick up rafters in our buses and vans at the end of each trip on the river. Each trip that is launched together is picked up together. We thank all rafters for their patience here, as it would be inappropriate for us to leave part of the trip members at the takeout.

Characteristics of possible company affiliated manipulation of social media:
1.) An affiliate takes a trip with a competitor
2.) Posts a bad review
3.) Suggests a SPECIFIC competitor company for Trip Advisor Readers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    16
    3
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I highly recommend Carolina Outfitters for a family whitewater adventure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The people are awesome and I liked that it was a small company vs. big corporate. If you have a fun side and especially like a challenge, ask for Dangerous Dave or Taco!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Don't use them! Period!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had a large party that was going to arrive 15min late. This was an unguided trip mind you.We called and told them we were 1/2 way to there location and they wanted us to reschedule the trip no questions asked. I asked them to reconsider. They said they wouldn't do it. No flexibility what so ever. They charged us full price and we never even went down the river. I've had others tell me there safety protocols are lax and the owners is very hard to deal with. I should of listened.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
“white water rafting trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This company is professional in every aspect. Our Boy Scout Troop (T124 Milledgeville GA) recently rafted unguided down the Natahala and had a FANTASTIC time. The office location is convienent to the put in spot and the bus driver "Happy" did a great job driving the big cheese wagon (old school bus). All the team members were very helpful and thanked us numerous times for choosing their company so they did not "have to get a real job :) " The office has a nice assortment of great T shirts and gifts and the photos they take of you coming down the river are of professional quality. This was the second time we have used them and will definitely use them again. The boys loved the trip and enjoyed the cold water!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time down the river..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I used this company for our 2 hour journey down the Nantahala and although the water was freezing we had a blast! We loved our guide Josh and he really made the trip all the more fun with his stories and jokes, great character. Highly recommend for a half day journey and this company is about $20 less than the NOC place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank allicat3649022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Outfitters also viewed

Topton, North Carolina Mountains
Topton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Topton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Carolina Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing