We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood lasagna to die for!”

Breezeway Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Breezeway Restaurant at Topsail Island situated on picturesque Topsail Sound, this casual seafood family restaurant provides waterfront dining at its very best. Conveniently located 6.2 miles south of Surf City stoplight The Breezeway sits right at the waters edge. The Cherry Family invite you to join them for delicious seafood, hushpuppies and a spectacular view of the Topsail Sound.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood lasagna to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the past decade, have made this place a must - great view of the sound, nice service and hushpuppies - can't go wrong.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    99
    62
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ok, there wasn't much to choose from in the way of other restaurants. I think there was only one other restaurant open, but the Jolly Roger hotel recommended this place. We had a good seafood meal at fair prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Island Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had dinner here last night, and all eight of us thoroughly enjoyed it.
I had the small (20 pieces) breaded shrimp platter, with fries and slaw. Peggy had shrimp and scallops over linguini. Others had fresh fish, or crab legs or a variety of other dishes.
The hush puppies they serve - like Mexican restaurants serve chips and salsa - were great. No butter or ketchup needed, just bite in and enjoy.
Great view of the sunset over the Inter-coastal Waterway on the backside of Topsail Island.
We eat here every time we're at Topsail.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Don't miss the beautiful sunsets from here! Food was delicious as well. Try the hot crab dip- yum! Hushpuppies are best I've tasted. Walk on the docks while you're waiting for your dinner or afterwards - and don't forget your camera!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deeceepee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I called in the early afternoon of a Wednesday, to see if I would need reservations. I was told that they don't take reservations and they open at 5pm. When we showed up at 6pm, there was a note taped to the door saying they are closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Would have been nice is the guy on the phone had told me that before we drove there.

Anyway, we went back on Thursday, because I'm a hushpuppie fiend, and I had to have their famous hushpuppies. The service was okay, our waitress was friendly enough. We didn't get our food super fast, but it didn't take forever. It was an everage wait.

My fetucinne was bland and the sauce was thick and congealed, it was very unapetizing. I think I ate about 5 bites before I just gave up. My son seemed to like it a bit more than me, though. Everyone's else's entrees were just average. My mom thought her fish was on the greasy side and she didn't finish it. The hushpuppies were a big disappointment. Everyone at the table agreed. The tap water tasted like dirt. That's all I drink, and in the 9 or so restaurants we ate at during the week, this was the only water I couldn't drink. Nasty.

The location was convenient and right on the water, which was nice. The carpet was worn and needed to be updated. In fact, I would say the whole place needed a makeover. It appeared worn down and just old.

We won't be going back to this one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank disneymommy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezeway Restaurant also viewed

Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Breezeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing