We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a great price!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Topsail Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jolly Roger Inn & Pier
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Topsail Beach
Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a great price!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We've NEVER been on vacation so we weren't sure what to expect. Booking a room in NC from the phone in Ohio was a bit daunting. What we found at the Jolly Roger Inn and Pier was friendly faces, awesome views, relaxing times, and fun in the sun! It's not fancy in the least bit, you're not going to find a mint on your pillow or valet parking. But, you will find shells as you walk along the beach, jellyfish swimming in the water, waves lulling you to sleep at night, and friendly folks always willing to give you a recommendation or answer your questions (no matter how dumb they might be lol). We loved it and can't wait to go back!
Pros:
Price was quite reasonable (even for a family on a tight budget!)
Rooms were spotless
Staff was friendly and was always willing to give recommendations on where to eat, etc.
Views were amazing
Check-in and out was a breeze
No hidden charges
Beds were sooo comfy (I wake up with back pain at my own house, had none on these beds!)
A/C was nice and cold
Kitchens were well stocked with plates/utensils/etc.

Cons:
No internet or phones in the room but was really not that big of a deal. I just used my cell phone to text and when I had to get online, I went into town, no biggie.

Room Tip: "Like" them on FB to receive discount on room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Star A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    28
    11
    20
See reviews for
53
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family has vacationed at the Jolly Roger Pier Motel for the past 12 years and truthfully is isn't 5 star but with many new renovations and upgrades are just bonus for us. We go to the beach to enjoy the ocean and sand, not a fancy hotel. Staff are always pleasant, helpful and friendly. The view from your balcony is spectacular, sunrise or sun set. Fishing or a stroll on the pier, a hot dog from the hotel grill, a short walk to a fun acarde put put area and many shops and restaurants makes the location primo. If you're looking for wild, party, crowded place to go Topsail isn't from you. It's a quiet fun family beach where you can go and relax and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: The king efficiency suite is awesome, two room, king size bed, pull out couch, full kitchen WITH ute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetsvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy UT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The reviews on here make me laugh. I'm not sure what people expect. First, consider the location.....right on the beach. Anywhere in the world, that is going to make the price a little higher than the average motel. Was it worth it? ABSOLUTELY.

Someone complained about no phones or wifi. Um. Ok. I really didn't some to the beach to surf the internet.

No, the Jolly Roger isn't fancy by any stretch of the imagination. But we spent four days with family hanging out on our balconies taking in the breath taking scenery and watching the kids play in the ocean. And the pier is awesome...my son went fishing for the first time and we saw a guy catch a shark.

If you're looking for a luxury, bring me a mai-tai vacation, the Jolly Roger probably isn't the place for you. Actually, Topsail probably isn't the place for you.

But if you want a beautiful, relaxing, let-your-hair down type of place, you should give it a try! We loved it and will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rknap14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Location 5 star - facilities not even one. If you're not a fisherman then even allowing for the view, it's a very poor value hotel. The ONLY piece of equipment was a fridge and that was probably to keep the bait fresh. No phone/Wifi/Kettle - not dirty but hardly sparkled. In September the locality was hardly buzzing and there is a decent restaurant close by. For $120 a night, I expect more than a sunrise

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenileSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Topsail Beach hotels

Peoria, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

No, it is not a 5 star hotel. Yes, the rooms smelled a little musty and the shower head almost fell out of the wall. But it is a reasonably priced place to stay right on the beach within 100 yards of the fishing pier. There is really no better location in Topsail Beach with such a breathtaking view of the sunrise which I could photograph right from our balcony or the fishing pier; walk barefoot out of our room onto the beach; rent a fishing pole and fish all night on the pier. The staff was very accomodating and friendly with their sweet southern accents I love. The bed sheets were clean, the towels were fresh. Our only complaint is the beds were hard! It was sort of like sleeping on an ironing board :) But after spending a day splashing in the ocean or a night fishing, we had no trouble sleeping on any surface. Overall, it is a nice place for those who want to avoid crowded beaches and commercial high-rises that block the most spectacular view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is a must. A king suit is a great value and worth inquiring about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Jolly Roger is a popular motel right on the beach. It's in a quiet location with a pier that you can walk out and to (and fish). You can also walk to several shops and restaurants, plus they have a small grill and shop off the motel office. There is a small but charming museum two blocks away, but most people seemed to be focused on the relatively uncrowded beach. It is family-friendly and the ocean-front rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors have nice balconies. We had a connecting room with a bedroom off of toom with a kitchenette, couch and bed, which was an ideal setup. The staff seemed friendly.

On the con side, this is not a luxurious place. Reading lights could have been better/ more numerous. But the main problem we had was the tap water, which had a weird smell and taste, so we drank only bottled water while there. Also, there was no hot water in the shower, but we didn't ask for assistance, so there might have been some trick to getting it to work. (If so, they should post a card in the bathroom with instructions; there are no phones in the rooms, so we couldn't just call.)

There was expanded cable on the TVs, but no list of the channels was supplied, so if you are not from the local area, you have to scroll through dozens of channels to find what you want.

There was a Mr. Coffee, but no coffee supplied. Also, there was a microwave, but the dishes supplied had metal trim on them that arced in the microwave, potentially causing a problem at some point. The room was not terribly dirty, but there were a few things that housekeeping missed. Adding a screen door to the balcony would allow fresh air and fewer flies to get in. Trash under the units was there for three days, so they must not have had anyone assigned to pick up stuff around the grounds.

If you are looking primarily for beach-front location without luxury, you should consider this motel. Even with things for the Jolly Roger to work on, we much enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The bathroom door wouldn't shut, there was no in room phone service, and the ice cost 25 cents a shot. I'll still have to say that the friendly staff and the great view and atmosphere more than made up for it. I would recommend it if you are a no frills kind of person like myself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strufflestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsail Beach
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
131 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.6 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.5 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
375 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
#3 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Inn & Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Inn & Pier

Property: Jolly Roger Inn & Pier
Address: 803 Ocean Blvd, P.O. Box 3008, Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6953
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Topsail Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Topsail Beach
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Jolly Roger Inn & Pier Topsail Island, NC - Topsail Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing