We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a quality restaurant with wide choices”
Review of Southern Sisters - CLOSED

Southern Sisters
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Finally a quality restaurant with wide choices”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a 44 year resident here, I have longed for a really quality(not down home) restaurant that I could recommend to visitors or take guests to with pride. After a few brief duration attempts over the years which failed rather quickly, we finally have a winner in Southern Sisters. Traditional Southern delicacies are available plus upscale choices that offer competition to other excellent restaurants in the Piedmont Triad. Jezebel Chicken and Shrimp and Grits are particular favorites. A decent wine list here in Bible Belt country. Fair prices and knowledgeable service. I hope to be able to raise them to 5 stars in years to come.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    17
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best thing about Thomasville”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Southern Sisters has a wonderful menu-- gourmet comfort food, large portions, a wide variety of sides and appetizers--- but leave the diet police at home! You won't find many healthy options but it will be well worth a splurge night. My only complaint is that I always want to get my favorite yet I still want to try something new! The restaurant is small so you will have to manage a wait during weekend evenings and you usually have to parallel park on the street but we don't mind at all since the food is so good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good food, freshly prepared. Good variety on the menu, not a very large menu but everything we've ever eaten here has been wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank monty3251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a real surprise and a treat in Thomasville.
Good southern cooking, great vegetables and
sides with seafood ( yes, seafood ) and beef and
burgers. They have a full bar although don't
expect any name wines.
This is a great place at a reasonable price.
You will not be disappointed and you will come back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luminakkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great eclectic food for a small town!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Such a surprising restaurant with great southern based choices. I was pleasantly surprised based on the other restaurants in Thomasville. The food was excellent, and the wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The hostess could use a little customer service training, but overall not bad at all. I will go again.

Helpful?
Thank JodieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Sisters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing