We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Square

On the Square
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Tarboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We live only a 45 minute drive from On the Square, so we don't eat there often, but at least twice a year, and whenever we have a special occasion, we look forward to trekking over to Tarboro. It's hands-down our favorite place to eat. If Heaven serves food, it will be like this. Every time we've eaten there, each of us, with our respective dishes, take one bite and our eyes roll back, as we savor how out of this world their dishes are. That being said, we ate there last night and that was not the case. My husband ordered the beef brisket, not really knowing what to expect (as is with most of the dishes, because most of us don't eat things created the way they do it at OTS, which is what makes it so special of a place). However, the brisket was so fatty and grisly that my husband couldn't eat it. He did his best at trying to find a place that was actually meat, but most of it ended up on the side of his plate. We took it home and fed it to our dog. I hope they remove that particular kind of meat from their menu, so others won't have a bad experience. The place is too good to have that happen to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    14
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in a small rural town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

On the Square is definitely a restaurant you would find in a big city with great restaurants. It is an independent with a great chef. I go there every time I travel for business and I am always shocked there could be such a great innovative restaurant of this caliber in Tarboro. Unfortunately, they are only open for dinner Thursday thru Saturday. But lunch is served every day and is also very good, but definitely more casual than their dinner service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had dinner there on a busy Friday night and were totally surprised. The menu choices were nothing that we expected such as the oyster dish with bacon and smoked paprika. Service was prompt, food preparation and plating were splendid and even though they were busy, the service time was excellent. We plan to return next time in town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRaleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitsett,n.c.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

stopped to have lunch while traveling thru tarboro, we arrived around 1:30pm,the restaurant was not crowded,placed our order at the bar and seated ourselves, ordered corn chowder and cobb salad, corn chowder very bland,no taste, cobb salad looked as if it came from food lion deli,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tat2guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Moving to Eastern North Carolina from Washington, DC was wonderful, but the restaurant scene left me wondering if there were any high quality restaurants nearby. I was introduced to On The Square by friends and had an amazing meal-Paris, Milan, London-you've got competition in ENC :)

Helpful?
Thank Sroaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Square also viewed

Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to On the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing