We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (207)
    Filter reviews
    207 results
    Traveler rating
    121
    60
    18
    5
    3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    121
    60
    18
    5
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsindoor poolstayed herecinnamon rollsbryson citythe breakfast areahot tubking suitenice hotelonly negativepancake machinebiscuitsfree breakfastgreat place to staysausagegas stationtwo nightsbusiness trip
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    173 - 178 of 207 reviews
    Reviewed May 16, 2011

    As always Holiday Inn Express comes through. Clean and comfortable. We ran away from home for a couple of days to just relax. We choose this area because it was not too far from home, but far enough, a couple of hours. Cherokee and the casino is just 14 miles away if we choose that or lots of neat stores and shops in the area.
    Holiday Inn Express remains my go to chain for knowing what I'm going to get when arrive, mainly no surprises. This location is clean, comfortable and the staff is great. Becky who took care of the breakfast area was awesome.

    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rpwillis1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 8, 2011

    We have stayed here a few times while our son was attending Western Carolina University. We are glad they are back in the Holiday Inn Express fold and have nothing but compliments for this visit. I booked the reservation in January - it was FULL for graduation this weekend.

    We had a third floor room that had NO odors and was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and I appreciated the variety of pillows on the bed - clever that the cases are marked "firm" or "soft." WiFi worked very well too.

    Breakfast was standard fare and fresh. Ham & cheese omelets with sausage, biscuits and some kind of stew or gravy, pastries, cereal, yoghurts and fruit. I was particularly taken with the new pancake maker. We were up very early so had the personal tutorial to work the machine. It was fun and the pancakes were really good. Love how they just roll onto your plate! Its nice to have something to make you laugh first thing in the morning. Staff was very friendly. They were very gracious to the woman in front of me at checkout who had all kinds of complaints about the room rate - it was graduation and a weekend - deal with it!

    Will be staying there again when son gets his masters next year! Book early!!

    Room Tip: Just ask.
    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Myquest55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 7, 2011

    We stayed here the first night because we were tired and just needed a nice place to stay that allows dogs and appeared to be clean and safe. We were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the condition of the hotel and room, and the fact that they allow dogs. We got a "suite" which was really all one room with a bathroom, and kitchenette in the hallway, but it was a large room and very comfortable. We liked the hotel so much we went back for a second night when we couldn't find a nice new chain hotel in Bryson City or Cherokee that allows dogs. Another thing we really liked about the hotel was its proximity to the town of Dillsboro, with its shops, and the town of Sylva, with its shops and wonderful selection of restaurants.

    Room Tip: maybe ask for a suite?
    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Labnut
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 27, 2011

    Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I did not expect much for a Holiday Inn Express, but this was actually one of the better Holiday Inn's that I have ever stayed at. The room was oversize, the bathroom was adequate and clean, and the whirlpool bath was larger than the average hotel hot tub. We were very comfortable in this hotel, extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was typical fair for continental, but we enjoyed the hot food as well. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the southern style biscuits and gravy. If I were to visit the area again, I would feel very comfortable to stay here again.

    • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank saxmanlee
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 26, 2011

    My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our daughter while on a tour of colleges in Tennessee and North Carolina. The lobby area was clean, bright, and well-lit. The desk staff was very friendly and checked us in promptly. They also changed our room for the second night to a king suite right across the hallway from original room. Everything was done quickly and efficiently with a friendly smile and a "yes, ma'am." If our daughter winds up going to school in this area, this property will become our home away from home. Comfortable, quiet, nicely decorated, and spotless.

    Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    2  Thank Deb E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews