We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a typical buffet steak place.”
Review of Ryan's

Ryan's
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Sylva
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Bern
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is a typical buffet steak place.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nothing special about the place. It has seen better days in terms of carpet and seating, but the food areas are clean.
Remember that WCU students get a discount - show your CatCard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinsPlus2More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Food selection was poor. Servers don't care how you want your steak, they give you the piece they want. Some items were either cold or not cooked completely. Never go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good for a Christmas eve lunch”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

As is our custom, my wife and I ate lunch at a buffet while shopping on Christmas eve. Ryan's is a typical buffet, great salad bar. Good selection of entree's, but what makes better than most is the desert bar; a good selection of tasty endings, including, crispy bars, cookies, pie, cake and ice cream. Not fine dining but a fine lunch for hungry shoppers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee
1 review
“Raw Meatloaf”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family went to eat at Ryan's on Sunday, November 25, 2012 and the meatloaf was raw. We told two servers and they said they would let them know. Our server came to the table and I asked her if they were going to remove the raw meatloaf and she said she would tell them again. My daughter likes to eat the meatloaf and was disappointed that day because it was never changed out for the whole hour we were there. There was a gentleman, maybe the manager, walking around looking at the bar but even he didn't remove it. We enjoy eating there but we may have to find an alternative place if they don't shape up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Box resturant with plenty of food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Right on the property of Wal-mart. Easy to find; plenty of parking. Reasonable buffet pricing. A LOT of people enjoy this food. I found it okay - typical buffet. However, the place was clean.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's also viewed

Sylva, Jackson County
Cullowhee, Jackson County
 
Sylva, Jackson County
 

Been to Ryan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing