We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, horrible service”
Review of Nicky's of Swansboro - CLOSED

Nicky's of Swansboro
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family owned restaurant that specializes in homemade cooking and fresh seafood.We are now located in Historic Downtown SwansboroOpen 7 Days a week with a late night kitchen!
Jacksonville NC
1 review
“Great food, horrible service”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have been to Nickys a couple times since I have lived in the area but none of my visits were as bad as my last one. Our waitress was Meg and she was unorganized, rude, and slow. One of the few times she came to the table she reeked of cigarettes....very unprofessional and gross. Good thing the food is so delicious or I would have asked to speak with the owner right then. It took her so long to bring us an extra tartar sauce for our meals that we were pretty much finished when she finally arrived! Any time she talked to us she was condescending and frustrated....like we were inconveniencing her. I was very offended by this visit to Nicky's...I realize everyone has their bad nights but the way she was acting was inappropriate and if she was really that upset she should have not gone to work that night. I hope that there will be repercussions for her behavior because having a bad waitress ruins the whole experience for a paying customer. She does not need to be in this line of work since she obviously dislikes it so much. Sorry for the bad review. but I thought it needed to be said.
For future diners I recommend a fried seafood basket and requesting any waitress but her!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaK89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacarr84, Manager at Nicky's of Swansboro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave the review Jessica. Sorry you did not enjoy your meal, I can assure you that she has been reprimanded and the situation has been resolved. I hope you will come back again and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    54
    18
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicky's Never Disappoints”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been going to Nicky's for a year and a half now. It is one of our favorite restaurants in town. We have never gotten a bad meal. If you want something changed on an item on the menu, all you have to do is ask. The food, drinks, atmosphere and service are always top notch. We would highly recommend this place to anyone interested in fresh food and a great time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mynxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacarr84, Manager at Nicky's of Swansboro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks so much for the lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We eat here every year, sometimes twice, when we are at the Crystal Coast. The deck outside is the best place to sit. Every time we sit inside we see bugs on the walls or tables, but the health score reassures us that it is probably just a side effect of being right on the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KNCASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacarr84, Manager at Nicky's of Swansboro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the review! Unfortunatley they are a consequence of being right on the water but we do have weekly maintence to deter them from coming inside as best we can. We hope to see you again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love having a meal on the back deck!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The view is fabulous. It is a wonderful place to watch the sunset. The food is delicious, especially the entree specials of the day. The clam chowder is the best around! Don't be put off by the simple exterior, the food and the view will make up for it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sendlimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacarr84, Manager at Nicky's of Swansboro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks so much for the lovley review! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is good;homemade cheescake was gross”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First visit and food was good. oth meals were good and the food was of good portion.The wait was average and the staff seemed frazzled. It was a Saturday night around 5PM. Homemade red velvet cheescake was aweful. Neither one of us could eat it. Tasted like playdough. Hoep the rest of their desserts are better

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimOK1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacarr84, Manager at Nicky's of Swansboro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the reveiw Kim! Sorry you did not enjoy the homemade cheesecake! Nate makes everything from scratch, maybe you'll like the Red Velvet or Carrot Cake better. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicky's of Swansboro also viewed

Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing