We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware of margarita special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Fincas

Las Fincas
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Swansboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Across from Sanders Ford
maysville, nc
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beware of margarita special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Several friends and I went there for dinner because of the margarita special. We had gone to the restaurant in the past and had the frozen margaritas at the special advertised price and had no problem. The margaritas are advertised in the menu as "Tuesday Margarita Special" for $2.99 and are very tasty. When the bill came we were charged full price and told the frozen ones we ordered were not on special only the ones on the rocks. We were told there was a sign up front which turned out to be a small sign and was not at eye level. Of course we received no satisfaction in the matter. Everyone was ok with the food and have enjoyed going there in the past, but probably will not go back.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    4
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hubert, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is good, but just expect to wait!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We come to this restaurant frequently. The food is the best around, but the service is terrible. They are short staffed and if they added two more people to their waitstaff, they would do much better. I have seen so many people walk away just because there is not hostess to greet you and take your name. What kind of restaurant makes the customers write down their own name? They need to hire a full time hostess. When this restaurant first opened, they were packed every single night. They have lost so much business just in the few years they have been open. I believe that they do not want to spend the money for extra staff but what they do not understand is that it is costing them their business. If the food was not the best around, I would never go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We are local and eat here at least once a week. Lunch specials are the
best deal ever! 11-2 I think the times of those.
Chicken Nachos are fabulous, Fajitas-awesome!
Sometimes the language barrier is a problem I will admit but they usually
do work hard if they don't understand if you ordering special.
It gets crazy busy here, and there can be long waits on Fri/Sat nights, but
if you plan ahead you can beat that crowd.
They have been open over a year now and are much better in time management than the one person who commented before me, in my opinion. But because I love their good food, I wait patiently and enjoy the break, and not driving to J-ville to have a great meal.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotenuf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
2 reviews
“Delicious and Affordable Food at Las Fincas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Las Fincas is a welcome addition to the Crystal Coast area. The food is great and the prices are reasonable. The staff is friendly and attentive, taking care of your needs in a timely manner. Las Fincas has become one of my favorite restaurants in an area that badly needed another alternative for Mexican cuisine.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGirl821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in the Boro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We love Las Fincas! Evidently the rest of the area does too! Get there early to avoid having to wait for a table. We have not noticed the issue one reviewer had with the seats. (???) The food is the best Mexican in this area and has great prices. This family knows what it is doing!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Fincas also viewed

Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Swansboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Las Fincas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing