We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful relaxing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swannanoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to mama gerties for a weekend relaxation trip and that is exactly what we got!!! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the sites were very spacious and well landscaped for privacy. They have a very nice pet yard and the whole place was clean. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I spent this past weekend at Mama Gerties. The campsite was clean and visually appealing. The bath house was by far the nicest I've been in. The Staff was so nice and stopped to say hello while we were outside by the fire. This is more of a campsite for people without children. There is very limited activities for kids but adults wanting peace and quite this is the place to go.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Candi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Let me just start by saying that my husband is not a camper! He loves being outside and doing outside activities but hates bugs etc. This was by far the cleanest place that we have ever camped. Starting with checking in everyone was so nice and friendly. The gentelman took us to our campsite and showed us the water, bathrooms, showers, etc. He then got out and sprayed all around our campsite for bugs. We unpacked our car and popped up our tent and started our fire and cooked our steaks, baked potatoes, and corn on the cob and never once had to share our food with ants or any other bugs. It was awsome! The bathrooms were some of the cleanest I have ever seen as the showers. At the tent site I swear we could have eaten off the ground it was so clean. The staff there was very friendly every time we encountered them and also the people staying there came over and said hello. We were able to take our dog and he enjoyed himself also. The sound of the water running in the creek below was really nice. We will definatly be going back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This campground is clean and well maintained. Great views. The staff is very friendly. They have some great tenting sites and small cabins. Babbling streams. Don't hesitate to reserve this campground. It is very hilly. Small children might have to be watched carefully.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CompuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Camping on a mountain top was a first in a lifetime experience. This campground is on my short list of must come back again and again. It is a short drive to the River Arts district of Asheville and the Biltmore Village and Biltmore Castle. We explored the small towns around Asheville then returned to sit and watch the setting sun drop behind the Smokey Mountains.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Winterhawkweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved this place! Very quiet and beautiful views! The sites are large with excellent hookups, fire pits and picnic tables. The roads in here are steep and windy but worth it to stay in such a lovely place that is so well maintained. Excellent bathrooms and laundry facilities!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalinaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The bathrooms and showers were not only clean, but also quite nice. The laundry facility, which is in the same building as the bathrooms and showers was about the nicest facility I have seen in any hotel or campground. There are not that many tent camp sites (there are more RV sites), but the ones they have are nice and surrounded by wild rhododendron. I bet the rhododendron are amazing in the spring time. If I camp in the Asheville area again, this is where I am headed. An added bonus is that the campground is just one exit away from the Western North Carolina Nature Center (WNC) and not far from a Cheddar's restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground

Address: 15 Uphill Rd, Swannanoa, NC 28778-9213
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Swannanoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Swannanoa
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Mama Gertie`s Hideaway Campground Hotel Swannanoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing