We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Vacation thanks to Island Inn”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My family and I always go to Surf City for a few nights when we go and visit family in Raeford. We ended up staying 4 nights this vacation and they upgraded us to a bigger room when we got there which was awesome. It is quite, and just a 30 second walk to the beach. They also have a pool if you get tired of the salt water, which is very refreshing. I can't say enough great things about this place, it will always be a favorite place for us to stay and we think we are going back over Laborday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyLothlorien23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

We make the trip from Ohio to the Surf City/Topsail Island area for our summer vacation almost every year, and we would never stay anywhere else but the Island Inn! The Inn is a minute walk from the beach if that. It is also within walking distance to most of the Surf City restaurants, shops, and fishing pier etc. The Inn is very well kept and very clean, with a relaxing island decor and atmosphere, and very reasonable room rates. It has a nice fenced in pool area and every room has its own picnic table so you eat, play cards or just sit outside and enjoy the ocean breeze. We prefer the rooms upstairs because there is a large sundeck with extra chairs and tables and enough space to put your surf fishing gear if needed. The rooms themselves are nice and cozy. They aren't large rooms, but we travel with our two teenage boys and we have plenty of room. The rooms are very clean and have a refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, cable television, and internet. We like the tropical colors in the rooms and the cool tile floors after a day on the hot sand at the beach. The staff is friendly and always helpful when we need something. The owners are right next door and we can't say enough about Brian. He always remembers me when we go down (and my brother when he is there) even if it is a couple of years between stays. Brian is always friendly and makes sure we are comfortable during our stay. Thanks Brian! Can't wait to go back to the Island Inn next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

My wife & I travel through N.C. once a year and make it a point to go out of our way to stay at this place. The service is great, the rooms are kozy, and the view is spectacular. One of the managers personally made sure we enjoyed our stay. We thankyou Christine from the bottom of our hearts. Will definitely will go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank L_Ron_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I am a travel agent who uses Trip Advisor quite often to check on hotels. It usually works but not this time. We spent 2 weekend nights here in August and it was a big disappointment. We were told there would be internet which there was not. They nickel and dime you to death and it is very cramped unlike the pics I saw on the internet. We stayed in a 2 double bed room with a rollaway for my 14 year old. There was no closet. No where to put the luggage. There was 5 of us. The rollaway was like a wooden board. I had to give my son all the pillows to put underneath him so he could sleep. They don't even have an ice vending machine. They have ice but you have to pay for it $1.50 and by the time we arrived-about 6pm the ice cabinet was locked and there was no one in the office. The staff was rude and the cleaning person told me if we needed extra towels they would charge us for them. The only thing good about this place is the location across the street from the beach. I very rarely complain about places but you do not want to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I just saw this and wanted to respond. I am the one who made your reservation and told you the room was not big enough for a rollaway bed. You insisted that all would be fine because most of the time you all would be at the beach.
Yes, we charge for ice. An ice machine sitting outside here would not last any time at all. With so many fishermen too, it works better having the 10lb bags.
Next time, get 2 rooms or call far enough ahead to get our room with 2 queens and 1 twin.
But to cram 5 people with a roll away into a room meant for 4 and then post a review making it look like I did this is not right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Island Inn. It is very close to the beach (less than a block) and a good value for the money. We stayed in a room with a single queen size bed which had both a refrigerator and a microwave. The room was pretty and painted in beach house type colors but it was very small. The bathroom was extremely tiny and seemed kind of like the bathroom we had when we were on a cruise ship a couple of years ago. The only issue we had was with the maid service. We got up every morning to go to the beach and we would come back around 12:30-1:00 and our room still wouldn't have been cleaned and so every day of our five day stay (except for one day) I had to go to the desk to get clean towels and wash cloths. I am not sure exactly what time the maid service cleans rooms but I just want to tell you it is not until afternoon hours apparently.
Overall though we did have a good experience. The building was older but well kept up. The staff was very friendly. I felt safe and at home. It is probably the nicest hotel on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopgrl922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

The room was clean and provided a microwave, coffee maker, and mini-fridge. There was no phone in the room and the hotel does not offer any type of internet service (no Wi-Fi in the area either). The bathroom was very small and the shower stall had a slow drain so it filled up with water. The front desk staff is less than friendly and told me they were reluctant to rent a room for one night (I was travelling for business but "that doesn't matter to them" they said). All in all, it's probably better than other places in Surf City.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NorthCarolinaKismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Island Inn for two nights. We found our room to be very clean, cozy, and even a little romantic. We're thinking about going back this coming weekend if we can get away, It was very quiet and peaceful. Some people say the rooms are small, I say that they are cozy. We had everything we needed. I didn;t expect to come back to our room the following day and find the beds made, not only made but fresh sheets which I really loved. The room had also been cleaned. I can't say enough good things about this little Inn. I called all our friends who love to fish, or just want a quite place to get away and told them eveything we had experienced at the Island Inn. I told them to lets get together and go this weekend if there are rooms available. I can hardly wait until this weekend.
S.J. Autry & S.M.Autry

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank angelinwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
137 reviews
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
23.1 mi away
Best Rest Inn
Best Rest Inn
#19 of 30 in Jacksonville
8 reviews
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing