We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cozy and Clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

When I was a little girl, my family always took me to Topsail Beach but we usually stayed in a beach house. For nostalgia's sake (and a much needed vacation), my husband and I decided at the last minute that we wanted to take a family vacation to the beach for Memorial Day. After reading the reviews about Island Inn on trip advisor, I was very sure that we would have a pleasant experience and we did! The rooms are very clean and there's a place to store everything! There's a fridge and microwave in every room and free wifi. Outside of every room is a place to hang wet towels and bathing suits along with a table in case you wanted to eat outside or just lounge. It is literally right across the street from the beach! It's perfect if you're traveling with children, alone, or for a romantic weekend. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Precise428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
We love it when our guests are happy! This is what we strive for each and every day! We know we are not perfect nor never will be. But doing our best is all we can do and always glad to hear when our efforts are appreciated!
This place was a total disaster when we bought it and we made it into what it is today. We will continue to make improvements in our rooms every year as well as we fell our guests deserve the best we can give them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
62
63
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We love it here! We have been staying here for years since we sold the condo. It is a one day drive from Ohio and we are never so relaxed as we are with our Island Inn family! Super clean, super friendly and great place to stay for 7 days or more! Thanks, Mike and Deidra

Room Tip: Lower rooms look out on the pool and upper rooms have an expansive deck area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you!!! So glad we meet your expectations year after year! And so happy to see you year after year! Our guests are like members of our family. We see couples grow together and their children grow up:) We truly look forward to seeing each and every one:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had stayed in houses for years at Topsail. We were very sad when we realized we had to cut back on expenses, as do many families these days. Gone were the days of renting a large house for the week and having the entire family there. The husbands have to work now and so began my search for a smaller option... When I reserved my room for four at Island Inn I had no idea what to expect. After staying there for four days last summer, I am thrilled to say I found that "special someplace"!! I could not say a bad thing about this place if I tried! Clean, quiet, quaint, and did I mention clean? Nicest staff EVER, nicest guests too! Consider island Inn if you too are in the same boat...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much!! We do our best to ensure every customer has the same great experience! Also, every year we are do upgrades to bedding, rooms, etc to make our wonderful guests' stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The entire establishment was very clean and well taken care of. The pool was an added bonus. the beach is big even at high tide and always kept very clean. We have enjoyed every stay here! Everything in Surf Side is within a short walking distance of the Island Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the Island Inn. Even though it is an older place, we did completely redo the entire motel and designed it for comfort, yet easier to keep to our high standard of cleanliness. Nice that our wonderful customers appreciate it!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Growing up my brother and his wife always took me, and my mom with their family to Topsail Island. One of the places we stayed at that I could remember was this one. The Island Inn. Back then, they had just put the pool in, so it was a fairly long time ago. I remember us having a blast. I am now married with a family of my own, and I wanted our first beach trip to be to Topsail. I had called the surrounding inns, and hotels of the beach like Tiffany's, and the one down by the sound. I was greeted over the phone by unwelcoming voices of what sounded to be tired and unenthusiastic employees. I wanted our family to have fun on our first trip, and I didn't want to worry about anything else. After speaking with others on the phone, I went to TripAdvisor. I found the Island Inn, and it suddenly dawned on me that I had been here before. Sure enough after getting in touch with and confirming with my sister-in-law that we this was the place I remembered, I had to call. I got the most welcoming voice on the other end of the phone, and I knew this was where I was booking. No doubt in my mind. I even told the lady how nice she was compared to others I had spoke to. Come to find out I was speaking with the manager. This woman was beyond nice to me over the phone and answered any and all questions I had. inally the time came for us to head to Topsail. When we arrived, I checked us in, (again another extremely nice experience) and opened our room. It was just what we needed. Big enough for my husband, my daughter who was 2, and son who was 10 months plus myself. Even with our pack and play we had enough room, for comfort. All the staff at this place is nice! The beach is located right across the road! Needless to say I WILL be booking here again, and I needed to share with everyone how friendly the Island Inn is. I wanted an overall enjoyable experience and that's what my family got. Thank you Island Inn for allowing us to have a memory I once had as a kid. As a mother you wonder what your room will look like, is it big enough, and all sorts of various things...we had room 4. It was great for the weekend we needed. We went the weekend after July 4th.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdsheff03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We are very happy your family enjoys our inn so much!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have not stayed in the Inn but my sister has had my nephew's birthday bash week there for 3 years straight now in July and we have spent a lot of time visiting the place. The rooms are spacious and clean and are set up like efficiencies so you can cook small microwave meals and keep sandwhich and drink supplies in the mini fridge that is supplied. We like the fact that outside of each room there is a picnic table with dividers and clothes hooks so you can hang outside catching the ocean breeze and hang up all your wet towels, etc. We have had the birthday parties outside in our own little private area and everyone is so friendly and accomodating. The owners are usually on site checking you into the place. There is a small pool just perfect for the kids to play in if they get tired of the beach. There are plenty of restaurants, grocery, gift shops etc. all within a block! If my mother did not live in Tospsail we would make it our vacation spot too!

Room Tip: We always stayed on the first floor but 2nd floor may give you more of a breeze and a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much!! We strive to be the best we can be. We appreciate each guest and want them to be comfortable and happy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Several friends and myself decided to do an outing at Topsail and decided to try the Island Inn in Surf City, NC. Although I have not stayed at this motel, all the reviews I read were good so I booked rooms for our outing. This motel is in a great location and just a walk across the street to the beach, gift shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a nice pool to enjoy. The hallway has picnic tables set up for gatherings if one pleases. All of the staff were very friendly and we especially enjoyed talking to Brian at the desk. I would definitely stay at this motel again and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: The corner room was my favorite and although it is next to the street, it is quiet. The room has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
21.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
9.0 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seaview Pier Motel
Seaview Pier Motel
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing