We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very close to beach access”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Triad, NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and very close to beach access”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Distance-wise, our room was closer to the beach than many "oceanfront" condos we have stayed in previously. The location is great. Very clean rooms. You can tell the owners take pride in this place.

The rooms are quite small, but unless you're going on vacation to stay in your room and watch TV, that shouldn't matter. If we were looking for another long weekend on Topsail Island, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blargoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
So glad we are appreciated!!! We do try hard to have everything as perfect as possible. The smile on our guests faces brighten not only the ones of us in the office day, but our housekeeping staff as well. They are truly the most important employees here! Our maintenance crew, which is my husband and son, are constantly making our rooms even nicer. Just wish we could get all of our wish list done in one winter!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    58
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
66
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. Safe and so close to the beach... we left our tent up when our kids had to go back to the motel to take a nap. We had a spacious queen bed room on the first floor. We traveled with a 2.5 yr old and a 5 month old. We brought a pack-n-play, and rented another one from them for a small fee. Both pack-n-plays fit fine in our room. There was a great place to hang your wet towels outside your room and a picnic table to leave some sandy things out right outside your door. There is a great close deli nearby where we ate our breakfasts and lunches. We were able to walk (with a double stroller) to decent restaurants for dinner. We barely used the car. It was clean (a few flies, but they had a handy swatter, and I think it's expected to see bugs by the beach. It wasn't a luxurious 5 star hotel, but it was clean and convenient and at the right price for a budgeting family. Just what we needed. I would go there again and would recommend this place to friends for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charissa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much!! We all do our very best make sure rooms are clean and guests are comfortable. We have an awesome housekeeping staff! Our maintenance guys, my husband and son, stay busy upgrading in the winter and maintaining in the summer.
It makes us all feel good when our customers are happy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was very Blessed to find this Gem of a place! I called every Pet Friendly hotel on Topsail Island before my arrival but showed up without a reservation because I wanted to look at the location, cleanliness, and make sure it was safe and quite. Island Inn was my first stop and it fit my criteria to a tee and then some! Barbara the owner/operator was so warm and friendly and the room was so perfect I didn't need to go any further. My room was very pet friendly with clean hard tile floors. The refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker was a great addition. The room I stayed in #5 had a second bedroom but I didn't need it so it was locked and I wasn't charged for it. I also had a dining room table with 4 chairs. The Flat Screen and nice tropical bedding made for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Pool was clean as was the grounds. The picnic tables outside each room was great too. Walking distance to Pier, Shopping, and Restuarants. Only suggestion would be a grill, there were lots of places to buy fresh Seafood I would of love to grill out! I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: There's no bad choice! It's ALL GOOD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megantracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much!! I do all I can for our guests. We cannot allow cooking out here. The fire dept and our insurance agent said that with the wood, plants, etc we cannot allow it.
However, the park at the swing bridge which is on the intercoastal has running water, bathrooms, covered picnic table and allows cooking on portable gas grill.
Park at North end of the Island allows cooking with charcoal as they have a receptacle for the hot coals. It too has playground, bathrooms, running water and very pretty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I went for a long weekend with our 7 year old and had a wonderful time. Clean, quiet and all around welcoming little hideaway. The manager and staff were very nice and the manager went out of her way to give us information on restaurants and such that were all just a stroll away. We were comfortable and happy. The only suggestion we would have is for some sort of mat on the floor when you walk into your room. Even with rinsing off outside the sand follows you. I felt badly because you can tell how the owner works very hard to keep things running nicely. I would also say that perhaps a toaster may be a good addition to rooms. Otherwise, we are looking forward to returning to the Island Inn and thank you for a memorable family trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciacca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! Will consider the toasters! Always looking at suggestions from our guest to enhance their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A great beach getaway. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Island Inn. Exactly the type of place we were looking for ~ quiet, cozy, within walking distance to the beach !!!!! a short walk to quaint shops and beach eateries. Thank you for the warm hospitality ! Looking forward to the opportunity to return to the Island Inn and Surf City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you!! Quiet, warm, cozy, clean and friendly is exactly what we strive for every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was small but clean. Owner very nice. Recommend second floor for brighter room and deck seating. Beds were comfortable. Location excellent. Half block from beach. Pool was clean and maintained. Close to restaurants. Walking distance to coffee house and genuine NY deli for authentic knishes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighCountryReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Wish we could've made the rooms bigger! However, this is why we added the decks, porces and picnic tables. This extends the rooms to the outdoors! We feel it is much better than just a walkway. Thank you so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love the owner she is great, very nice and helpful
. within walking distance of the beach, the rooms were clean and cozy. Not nosisy at all! I love it, and we will stay there again. thank you to the manager or owner for an excellent stay. we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmorrow490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much!!! It is very easy to be nice to nice people. We have the best guests anywhere!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
123 reviews
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
353 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seaview Pier Motel
Seaview Pier Motel
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
15 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing