We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel on the island to consider!”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only hotel on the island to consider!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Since we weren't staying for a full week, a hotel was our only real choice. Island Inn is a throwback to the days of "mom & pop" motels. Very clean, but minimalist features. Excellent location, across the street from the ocean, walking distance to a number of good restaurants. Very laid back, family-style place. Beds were "firm"; pillows the same. Be sure to bring or be prepared to buy beach towels. The hotel is very clear that theirs are for use in the room only. The air conditioning is a wall unit that is pretty noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ksb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    58
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
64
66
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Another hidden gem! GREAT location, GREAT staff and clean! Just a wonderful little quaint hotel in the middle of Surf City! The rooms are not large but they have EVERYTHING you need. Look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanBrze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was a great place to stay. It was very affordable and clean. Walking distance to everything. We only had to move our car 1 time, in the 5 days we were there. Only because we went to the sea turtle hospital.

Room Tip: Very close to everything!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comment! We work hard to ensure every guest has a clean and comfortable room coupled with a quiet, relaxing stay.
We truly appreciate our customers and the compliments!!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdese, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have been here several times and it is clean and neat and is located in the perfect area of the island. You can walk to a bar and right across the street is a great deli. We love staying here it is a great get away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much! We try our best to make our guests comfortable and provide them the amenities they desire. Clean rooms, quiet and peaceful atmosphere, and reasonable rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from an awesome weekend vacation at the Island Inn at Surf City. This is a quaint little motel with all the ammenities that we required. We booked the room with one queen. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Bathroom is very small, but worked out fine for us. The motel while we were there was very quiet and the tables outside each was a nice touch. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed being able to park the car and not move it until we left. Everything was in walking distance. We have decided to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usand2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My sister and I needed a place to stay for one night in Surf City. What a pleasant surprise! It was the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Very cute and comfortable. I would highly recommend the Island Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much! Owe it all to our great housekeeping staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just visited the Island Inn this past weekend with my husband. We decided to be whimsical and at the last minute (a couple of days prior to our stay) booked a single room with one queen-size bed. Topsail Island is not the most elegant of places when it comes to lodging, so we were very surprised to find this adorable little Inn! The room was on the second floor and everything inside of it was brightly color-coordinated, much like a Carribbean island feel. It was very clean and charming and right across the street from one of the public beach access points, so our walk to the ocean was a very short one. There are helpful notebooks in the rooms that provide information on local restaurants, menus, fishing sites, horseback riding sites, sailing opportunities, shopping, etc. The bathroom was very small and the shower was incredibly tiny, but it was very clean and perfectly fine for a quick weekend trip for me and my husband. I'm sure the larger rooms have larger bathrooms. We will definitely be visiting the Island Inn again soon!

Room Tip: I always recommend the higher levels (in this case it would be the second floor) because you decreas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Savannahgal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
128 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
22.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
364 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seaview Pier Motel
Seaview Pier Motel
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
15 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing