We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have been here several times and it is clean and neat and is located in the perfect area of the island. You can walk to a bar and right across the street is a great deli. We love staying here it is a great get away.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you so much! We try our best to make our guests comfortable and provide them the amenities they desire. Clean rooms, quiet and peaceful atmosphere, and reasonable rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from an awesome weekend vacation at the Island Inn at Surf City. This is a quaint little motel with all the ammenities that we required. We booked the room with one queen. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Bathroom is very small, but worked out fine for us. The motel while we were there was very quiet and the tables outside each was a nice touch. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed being able to park the car and not move it until we left. Everything was in walking distance. We have decided to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usand2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My sister and I needed a place to stay for one night in Surf City. What a pleasant surprise! It was the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Very cute and comfortable. I would highly recommend the Island Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you so much! Owe it all to our great housekeeping staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just visited the Island Inn this past weekend with my husband. We decided to be whimsical and at the last minute (a couple of days prior to our stay) booked a single room with one queen-size bed. Topsail Island is not the most elegant of places when it comes to lodging, so we were very surprised to find this adorable little Inn! The room was on the second floor and everything inside of it was brightly color-coordinated, much like a Carribbean island feel. It was very clean and charming and right across the street from one of the public beach access points, so our walk to the ocean was a very short one. There are helpful notebooks in the rooms that provide information on local restaurants, menus, fishing sites, horseback riding sites, sailing opportunities, shopping, etc. The bathroom was very small and the shower was incredibly tiny, but it was very clean and perfectly fine for a quick weekend trip for me and my husband. I'm sure the larger rooms have larger bathrooms. We will definitely be visiting the Island Inn again soon!

Room Tip: I always recommend the higher levels (in this case it would be the second floor) because you decreas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Savannahgal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 7 day visit to Surf City. Our stay at the Island Inn was great!! The rooms were very clean as well as efficient. The pool is terrific! The owners and the staff were friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe that it was so nice for the amazing price! We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JannyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We decided to take a trip to Topsail for our anniversary and stay at the Island Inn. When we originally called there was only a room with two queen beds available. The owners told us they would contact us if a one bed became available. When we arrived, we had a one bed room, much to our surprise! We were excited about it because we received a lower rate. The room was really clean and the Island Inn was really cute and charming. I loved that they provided a notebook of all the restaurants in the area with their opinions on the places and the days/times they were open. This was so helpful to us because we were only in the area for a short period of time and wanted to eat at only the good places! We will definitely go back! It was right across the street from the beach and we walked everywhere the whole weekend! Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Island Inn and we were so surprise of how clean and quiet the hotel is. A couple of week prior to going to the Island Inn, we were in a 4 stars resort in the Caribbean and let me tell you, the Island Inn was more clean, the towels were more spring smelling fresh, if you know what I meant. Onother thing is that the hotel is taken care by no other than the owner, so you really get first class treatment. We recommend this hotel, is really for couple or for the entire family. Suoer clean swimming pool and the beach is across the street. When you check in you will also find in your room 2 bottlesof water and a bag of popcorn. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN.

Room Tip: I think there is a military and veterans discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LevisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
136 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
22.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
140 reviews
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Topsail Island, NC - Surf City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing