We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, service good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf City Barbeque

Surf City Barbeque
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, service good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Came in for a quick dinner and was not disappointed after reading all the great reviews. Not fancy at all but good food. Clean, great fast service . We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    44
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Lejeune, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Catered event with Surf City BBQ is OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a party at our house for 50 people and asked SC BBQ to cater for us. The price per person was very reasonable and the food was unbelievable. We had guests here from Northern Virginia, Pennsylvania, Kansas City, etc. We also had three talented chefs in the mix. One of the chefs stated that it was, by far, the very best BBQ chicken he had ever had. The other two had their mouths too full to say anything...The BBQ pork, baked beans and coleslaw were perfectly seasoned. It has been two weeks and we are still getting messages from friends about the BBQ. Personally, I can't rave enough about Guy, one of the owners. His customer service was paramount in my making the decision to use SC BBQ. He was professional, courteous and knowledgeable about how much food we would need. He made our event so much better! If you visit Surf City, you have to get some SC BBQ and if you are renting one of the big houses and have a huge crew to feed, call ahead and have them cater for you too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ITFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Nice-Sized Portion, Friendly & Fast Service and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My family & I ate dinner here on a Thurs. eve. at 6pm and walked right up to the counter, placed our order & were served before we could fill our drinks. SC BBQ is located in a strip mall across from the Topsail Isl. Trading Co., it has limited booth-style seating and parking was easy to find. The interior is decorated w/ antique kitchen gadgets & vintage LP covers. Service was fast & friendly, tables were clean, and food was served on disposable plates. A "Regular plate" was 1 choice of meat (no bun), choice of 2 of their 6 sides, cornbread & a drink - $7 - a good amt of food. We had both the pork & chicken & loved both. They specialize in whole hog, cleaver-cut BBQ. It was delicious - we'll definitely be back again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stczetli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ok we have eaten a LOT of BBQ and this is by far the best I have ever had. We are from NC, not far from Lexington, so we have eaten some of NC's best BBQ and this is a very strong first! The staff is super friendly and will go out of their way to provide good service. The place is located in the Treasure Cove shopping center. This is one of our new favorite places! They also offer catering services!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite near topsail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

What a great find! Don't let the small size fool you...this is a big winner with our family. Delicious NC chopped BBQ with quality buns, great tea and delicious sides. A big contributing factor for our high rating was the friendliness of the cooks and the owner who walked around making conversation with people at every table. We plan to return whenever we are in the area and strongly urge you to as well. We believe this great BBQ place will be expanding in record time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaWilliamsFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf City Barbeque also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Surf City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing