We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers and friendly service at Andy's, now called Hwy 55”

Andy's Cheesesteaks & Cheeseburgers
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good burgers and friendly service at Andy's, now called Hwy 55”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at Andy's (now called Highway 55) are always friendly even when this place is slammed with customers, as is often the case. The burgers are good and so are the fries. We come here often. The only complaint is how sweltering it gets sitting in the direct sun with the floor-to-ceiling glass windows. The cords for the Venetian blinds are so tall you'd need a step stool to reach them so customers just have to sit there and swelter. For this reason, we usually do take out. The milkshakes are very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Skeeter81-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not your typical burger joint”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had driven by this place 50 times before I finally gave in to try. Was impressed, reminded me of Steak N Shake 50s style shake counter and tables with black and white checkered flooring. Now the food I Got a Philly cheese steak with marinara on the side(East St Philly) and my wife a Poboys
Shrimp Burger, both of us were very surprised and the shakes were like they made in older days and plenty of extra for a second, been back 5 times since.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSNDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great for late lunch.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed our first ever shrimp PoBoys. Very fresh shrimp and bun, good fries and slaw. Friendly efficient staff. We'll definitely be going back, this time to try the burgers & onion rings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Burgers!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Andy's has great burgers and onion rings. The menu has other tasty selections. The atmosphere made me think of a 1950's setting. Old sounds for background music. Staff very friendly. Actually greeted us with an open door, gave us a sample of pumpkin pie custard ice cream, and held the door open as we left inviting us to come again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janrweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great for burgers and milkshakes”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

You can't go wrong if you are looking for a good burger and fries and a great milkshake. Not much else to pick from, but the burgers, fries and shakes are worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's Cheesesteaks & Cheeseburgers also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing