We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cappuccino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunga Bunga Java

Hunga Bunga Java
Ranked #14 of 60 Restaurants in Surf City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cappuccino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I took a long walk down the beach one day, from south of the pier, and crossed over to Hunga Bunga for a coffee. Great atmosphere and the cappuccino was mighty fine

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringMarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good coffee, and free wi-fi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I had one of their delicious iced mochas this week and enjoyed talking with the staff, who were genuinely interested in how my week was going and where I am from. They have a coffee lounge ambience with comfy couches and nice stools to sit with your laptop and work. The free wi-fi was very helpful. I had a nice experience and will definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank HooDevil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved this hip, happy place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to Hunga Bunga Java on the second day of our vacation in Surf City, NC as a special treat. The place had a relaxed vibe with tiki-style decor and cool artwork by an amazing artist named Caroline Suzanne. Our young boys got smoothies, and my husband and I got fancy espresso drinks- all delicious!! The baristas were incredibly friendly! Our energetic, spirited (some might say wild) family felt most welcome, and the people there gave us great tips about local attractions. It was a bit expensive, but we couldn't stay away - we went back three more times during our weeklong stay plus a final stop on our way out when my husband ran in during a rainstorm to get us drinks for the ride home. You will smile the whole time you are there, promise!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBaltimoreMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Rough start to my first day, I spilled my whole coffee and the owner graciously gave me another. Staff was very friendly. Coffee was amazing, free wifi

Helpful?
1 Thank gymmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hip place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This coffee shop welcomes you each tome w huge smiles from the employees. All the employees are fun and you will enjoy chatting w them. Good coffee reasonably priced.. Highly recommend and they are pet friendly. Fresh water outside foe doggie

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pooh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunga Bunga Java also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Hunga Bunga Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing