We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was ok, too expensive”

Gallagher's Sports Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 68 Restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gallagher's Sports Bar & Grill is the place to be for family fun! 16 Flat Screen TV's, a great professional staff and something on the menu for everyone. Gallagher's Sports Bar & Grill uses the freshest local seafood available, local produce when it's in season and locally baked breads and desserts!
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food was ok, too expensive”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband & I ate there based on reviews but were not that impressed. We ordered the crab cakes that came with a salad (which was very good) and fries. The crab cakes were ok, nothing special and the meal came with no bread or hushpuppies. The service was good. We had tea to drink (not very good) and the ticket price was $52. Too high compared to other restaurants. I think that we would have been better off with one of the burgers according to other reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    135
    49
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh food good atmosphere, great for football”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are in surf city on vacation for the week and a watched our Steelers at Gallaghers Monday Sept 16. We went back again today and the food is very good, healthy options., the house honey mustard dressing is outstanding. The staff is very good. The menu has something for everyone. They did not have a non-alcohol beer option, but the manager said he was considering it because so many folks were asking. Tis is a good clean modern place, comfortable and plenty of TVs. Different than anyplace in Surf City. Good Place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We tried it based on other reviews here and were not disappointed. We ate here just after Labor Day 2013, and you could tell that it is already off season on Topsail as there were few others on this Tuesday night. I had the Just Nipped portobello mushroom sandwich with garlic mashed potatoes; the potatoes were excellent and the sandwich was good, but had too much balsamic vinaigrette (many restaurants do that), so I had to eat it open faced. My wife had the grilled chicken sandwich with swiss cheese & fries and she liked it a lot. We would recommend Gallagher's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danthebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our large group dined here on a weeknight and were seated almost immediately. The food was very good and the atmosphere was too. The bar is on one side of the building, so if you are not interested in that scene, it does not interfere with your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxboysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our experience didn't live up to the rave reviews we had read. Food was average and my husbands steak was over cooked. Service wasn't impressive either. Won't be returning...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RazzleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallagher's Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Gallagher's Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing