We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Daily Grind

The Daily Grind
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Daily Grind Coffee, Donuts & Ice Cream is open 7 days a week. We have a relaxing setting with FREE WIFI! We offer a variety of menu items. Fresh Brewed Coffee, Latte's, Iced Latte's, Iced Coffee, Smoothie's, Frappe's, Ice Cream, Milk Shakes, Bagels, Muffins, Hand Dipped Ice Cream, FRESH HOT DONUTS and much much more!!! Please stop in and visit us.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Waitstaff was not frindly at all, no hello, good bye, thank you, can I help you. All the common courtesies you expect, you won't find here. Very rude.

Helpful?
Thank KrisKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DailyGrind, Owner at The Daily Grind, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I apologize I am just seeing this review. It's has been many months but I wanted to also apologize for what type of service you received. I must say I am shocked. As you can tell from other reviews we have received, that is not typical. I only wish I could narrow down the situation and employee. I know have 12 employees going into the summer. I have never received a negative comment on any of them. Please email me when you are in Surf City next, I insist you come by for a free coffee of your choice. Traceyshugarts@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    63
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Topsail Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Coffee Shop with Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stopped here when we first moved on the island. We met one of the owners and she was very friendly and gave us great advice about other businesses on the island. The coffee is very good also. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marine_Family_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee & excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Island Inn across the street, so it was a short walk to get some of the best coffee we've had. The staff is friendly and will make you smile and their blueberry muffin was delicious. We returned each morning of our vacation for our caffeine fix. They also have cold coffee drinks, sodas, juices, etc. too. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danthebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's difficult to find a decent cup of coffee at restaurants in Topsail. Few of them have espresso machines and the brews tend to be weak.

Fortunately The Daily Grind provides a welcome sanctuary for coffee lovers. The atmosphere is really laid back. There is nice music playing and there is nice, comfy seating. Most importantly there is a state-of-the-art espresso machine and the baristas are very capable.

There are also cold drinks and non-caffeinated drinks for the non-coffee drinkers that you may be traveling with. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great coffee, SENSATIONAL blueberry muffins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was getting my coffee at Hunga Bunga until I gave Daily Grind a try. The coffee was great and the blueberry muffins were amazing. I asked if they made them fresh there onsite and they said they got them from a bakery in Wilmington. Fine with me. The muffin was a good sized muffin loaded with blueberries. The muffin was moist and amazing. And it went great with their very good decaf coffee that I ordered throughout the week we were in town.

I went back for coffee daily after finding this place. My wife had her coffee there too and we now consider it our place for coffee when on the island. I should mention also that it has a comfortable seating area both inside and out.

Definitely give Daily Grind a try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daily Grind also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to The Daily Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing