We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai at the beach? Yes! Here's why ...”
Review of Thai Grille - CLOSED

Thai Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
The Southern USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thai at the beach? Yes! Here's why ...”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently dined here after doing a quick check of TripAdvisor reviews from the car. :) Asian food is really hit or miss for me, and this was a definite hit.

I wouldn't say the menu is earth-shattering or terribly innovative, but having had Thai food only once before, I was totally ok with that. I had a fairly basic stri-fry customized to my liking and whoever's cooking back there knows exactly what they're doing. Veggies were fresh, bright and cooked crisp-tender -- SO much better than nasty old overcooked frozen veg, blurgh! -- and my steak was cooked just right too. Portions are large.

The only thing I will say is if you don't like cilantro, tell your server. Every single dish on the menu comes with a liberal sprinkling of large cilantro leaves. :)

Will eat here again for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiteWallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We chose this placed based on previous reviews. It is Thai with a modern twist. The sweet chili shrimp was fabulous. Our service was also great. The only complaint was the noise. The noise level, which made it challenging to talk to our party members was made worse by the band that played. They detracted from the experience rather than enhancing it. We will return for the food on our next visit, but may get carry out instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai for Topsail Island”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had the appetizer blackened tuna bites with wasabi dressing and shared entree of beef and basil with my husband. The service was great and the food came out fast and was delicious. Refreshing to have something different for Topsail Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnViews2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Never had Thai before but this place was good. I had the green curry with steak and shrimp. The steak was not very good in it but the shrimp was great in it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip the curry eat the noodles”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We love Thai food and we were craving rice while we were on vacation. We ordered red curry, drunken noodles, and phad Thai. The portions are huge. Unfortunately, the curry lacked flavor and color. It was too creamy. We would go back for the noodles though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krispykreme78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Grille also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing