We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try this place, you'll love it!”

Daddy Mac's Beach Grille
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Oceanfront dining at it's finest. Enjoy a wide selection of hand cut steaks, fresh island seafood, and the house specialties. A locals favorite since 2006.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try this place, you'll love it!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is where the locals eat, that says a lot! It's right next door to the information center. Take the elevator to the dining room and to the begining of really fresh seafood that you'll never forget! Friendly, clean, reasonable, great views too. A wonderful experience. Next time we go to NC to visit our kids at the USMC base, we'll be making another trip here just to eat at this great restruant :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank americanhistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    255
    135
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
1 review
“Better for lunch, I imagine ...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

since it does feature great oceanfront views. Not much atmosphere for dinner with bright overhead lights and diner type furnishings, though it was certainly clean and the service was attentive. The dinner selections were not very imaginative or very flavorful ... not much use of fresh herbs or garnishes. Standard iceberg lettuce salad (though the vinaigrette was tasty), no bread or rolls offered. One choice for vegetables, take it or leave it, though potatoes were also an option. A side of coleslaw was a nice touch, but just a touch ... about 4 forkfuls. Not a bad meal, but not a memorable one either except for the good company we were with!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beenthere108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to Daddy Mac's upon recommendation of my family (part-time Surf City residents) and we were not disappointed! I had one of the specials of the night - blackened sirloin with blackened crab cake and blackened grilled shrimp... Amazing! The steak was cooked perfectly and the crab cake was very meaty with little "filler". Our service was wonderful and we didn't have to wait long. We were pretty hungry, so we opted for first available rather than waiting to dine outside.
It can be pricey, but well worth it. I had checked out the menu online so we had decided that this was going to be our "splurge" dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, great times. Wonderful ocean views and I will be going back. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Surf City.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sooo Good!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I arrived here hungry for lunch and took advantage of the outside seating. Very pleasant atomosphere overlooking surf city pier. We both ordered the 1/2 pound homemade hamburger. It was so good and very lean. I also had the sweet potato fries. They were very tasty, not dry as most that i have tried elsewhere. Waitress was nice and attentive. Definitely would go back again and would probably order the hamburger again....it was that good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gutseygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy Mac's Beach Grille also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Daddy Mac's Beach Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing