We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on the island !!!”
Review of Island Delights

Island Delights
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hand Pattied Burgers, Subs, Pitas, Salads, BBQ and all the fixins..Full HARD DIP ICE CREAM BAR and SOFT SERVE. 50s Style Dining, 2 antique Jukeboxes, kiddie rides and walls of Nostalgia..FUN...
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food on the island !!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Island Delights has the best food on the island! Over 20 flavors of icecream, fresh hand pattied burgers, homemade waffle cones, family friendly, clean, nice waitstaff, and overall a wonderful time. A don't miss when you visit Surf City!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvTroubles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    99
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hamburgerfrenchfrymilkshake EVER!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This little hamburger place in Surf City, NC has THE best hamburgers I have ever had. Add french fries and a chocolate shake and the juke box that plays oldies from the 50's and 60's and it's doesn't get any better than this. The place is clean and filled with antiques from the 50's and 60's. The wait staff is happy to be there and very pleasant. It's a great place for the kids because they have all flavors of ice cream and great old fashioned quarter rides outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannie237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germanton, nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“First Visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I read the reviews of Island Delights and since they, for the majority, seemed very good, my husband and I gave it a try for burgers to take out. If you're in a hurry, forget it. We went at 11:05 AM (just after they opened) - SLOW!!! The burgers were very good; not so much the fries. We decided to try it again later in the week around 8:00 PM for more take out burgers. Again, the service was SLOW; burgers good. The place was packed with people getting ice cream and that line moved along very well. The staff was nice and the price is fine. Just don't be in a hurry if you want food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sokermom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good to stop and get ice cream”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stop and get ice cream after a long day at the beach. They serve hard serve ice cream. Cute atmosphere for kids, it reminded me of an old fashion ice cream parlor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelli013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't Drive By!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Make a point of stopping in to check this place out! The staff are friendly, the service is excellent and the food and ice cream is wonderful. Lots of interesting memorabilia to check out while you wait for your order. We recommend the Carolina barbecue (with slaw) sandwich. I wish I had another right now! We will definitely be back when we return to lovely Topsail Island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Delights also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Island Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing