We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The Sunset Inn was a perfect place to stay for a friend's wedding. The inn overlooks the waterway and is a short walk to the beach. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating when we asked for a late checkout so we could spend more time enjoying the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnotts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for writing a great review for our inn. Its such a wonderful spot!! The location is just fantastic, and our staff will always be accommodating whenever possible, I'm glad they were able to work out your late check out!! We hope to have you back for a visit soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 494 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sunset Inn recently on our first trip to Sunset Beach. The beach itself and the community is very quiet, so if you like to go to the beach because you like to walk on the beach, watch the birds, hear the surf, or just be quiet, it is perfect. The Sunset Inn just added to the relaxing, unhurried, non-commercial atmosphere. The Inn is quiet, the bed and room was very comfortable. There was a screened in back porch (private) where we ate our breakfast each morning. The breakfast was delicious - different each day, but always with the basics - fruit, cereal, bagels, OJ, milk- then it included a sweet choice that changed and a main course that changed. We had quiche one morning that was awesome. The view from the back porch was beautiful - looked right over the wetland marsh and the inter-coastal waterway. The Inn staff was very friendly and helpful. I left a jacket there, and they even called me on my way home to let me know they had it. They are mailing it to me - WOW! What a great vacation! Hope to be back soon! Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbryant79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Its sounds like you has an ideal trip!! We are so glad that it was relaxing and enjoyable. We try hard to make sure that breakfast is satisfying and tasty each morning so I'm glad to hear that we are doing well :). We have an amazing group of people working here, we feel very lucky to have them. We hope your jacket got back to you and we hope to have you visit with us again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I recently made our first trip to Sunset Beach. It was great! It's very non-commercial. The Sunset Inn is near the entrance to the island off the bridge, which overlooks like the inter-coastal wetlands behind it. A nice getaway place. We were able to walk to beach in about 5 minutes or less.

We stayed in the Scotch Bonnet room, which was on the third level. It was nice and quiet. Our room was clean and included screened-in balcony: a nice place to sit out and read or watch the birds in the wetlands. The room had a wet bar and mini fridge that was very handy.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Andrea, was very helpful in giving us suggestions of restaurants and sites to try and see in the area. The breakfast was good and had a nice variety, yet simple and not overdone.

Overall, it was a great experience. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Scotch Bonnet room was a nice room on the third floor that had the right amount of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for writing a very nice review of our lovely inn. We so appreciate our guests opinions ;). The Scotch Bonnet rooms is a terrific room, decorated with North Carolina's state seashell. All of our rooms have the wonderful view of the marsh from their private balconies. We so hope to see you back for a visit soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our two-day visit to Sunset Beach was excellent. The Inn was very comfortable. Our third floor room was tastefully decorated and gave a real “beach” feel. The screen porch offered beautiful views of the marsh and evening sunsets. The beach, a short walk from the Inn is clean and perfect for long walks. The Inn staff is friendly and helpful. Their DVD library offers a good selection of movies for room viewing. We had planned a fun 4hr kayak trip, but sadly the weather turned cold and windy. The Inn had no issue with our cancelling the trip and promptly refunded the fee. We replaced that activity with a visit to a wonderful craft center a short drive south. Casual area restaurants offer tasty seafood and several well-crafted beers. We arrive home relaxed and well rested.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCarpo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review of our inn. We certainly appreciate it!! We are so glad that you found your room to be very comfortable and beach like, its so nice when a getaway feels like a getaway:). Sunset Beach is a wonderfully clean beach, and it is perfect for long walks. Thank you for mentioning our terrific staff, we certainly agree that they are friendly and helpful. I'm so sorry that you didn't get to do the kayak trip you had planned, you'll have to came back sometime to do it. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a hidden treasure. The rooms were well appointed and spotless. I loved the screened in porches overlooking the marsh. What a double treat. Beach and sunrises out front and evening sunsets out back. A must do if you are visiting Sunset Beach. Staff was also fabulous. Andrea and Cynthia you are gems. Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for Cynthia when making your reservation. She is very helpful and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We love our screened porches and our marsh views and are so glad you do too!! Andrea and Cynthia are indeed fantastic, thank you for mentioning them:). We hope to see you back at The Sunset Inn for a visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

A friend and I came for a long weekend trip to Sunset Beach and decided to stay at the Sunset Inn from all the positive reviews. I wasn't disappointed: the staff people were personable, the rooms were clean, quiet, and the views from the screen-in porch were amazing.

Sunset Beach itself was breath-taking, at around 7:30pm the sunset is visible from Bird Island. Like a brilliant orange fire ball, the sunset paints bright reds and oranges across the sky. I saw people pull over on the side of the road just to get a snapshot of it.

All in all, I had a good experience and will be coming back to the Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri_C738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our property, it means a lot when our guests let us and the world know how their experience was. We are so glad that your trip here was positive :). And thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff and terrific rooms. And I have to agree with you on those sunsets, they are quite amazing. We hope to see you back for a visit soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The facilities are very nice, the rooms are comfortable and very attractive. The staff is especially welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts were excellent, with protein, grain, dairy and fruit available. I would definitely stay here again and can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: All of the available rooms are documented with photographs on the website. I was not on an end room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review, its very nice!! We try to keep the website updated so that our guests can choose the room that best suits them, and that they feel truly comfortable in. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, our staff cooks everyday to ensure that breakfast is delicious and filling. Please do come back for a visit soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
748 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
523 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
23.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing