We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Wedding”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunset Wedding”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently attended a wedding on Sunset Beach and stayed two nights at the Sunset Inn. The inn is within walking distance to Sunset Beach which was very convenient. Our stay in a Grand room was excellent. It is easy to see the Inn is well maintained and Andrea's personal touch made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Corner Grand room was roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit. Sunset Beach is a beautiful destination for weddings. In fact we host weddings at the Inn as well. We were happy to have you as our guests and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for mentioning Andrea, our manager, she is the best and I know she appreciates your kind comments. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    49
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
346
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to the Sunset Inn. Our stay of four nights was fantastic, and we look forward to returning soon!!! Our room was very comfortable and clean, and we, especially my husband, enjoyed the screened porch. The staff were very friendly and helpful...thank you!! Our only complaint about our visit was that it had to end too soon....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for choosing us as your four day getaway. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, and tell your husband our screened porch will be there waiting for him ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at this inn on multiple visits to Sunset Beach. The staff is remarkably stable, efficient, friendly, and accommodating. Location is off beach but is very convenient and only a short walk. Marsh views are gorgeous, especially at sunset and high tide. The building is well maintained and the grounds are full of flowers and shrubs. Breakfast is well done. Wifi is readily accessed in the rooms and public areas. The prices are very fair. Good central location with Calabash and Myrtle Beach areas easily accessed. New bridge has ended traffic jams.

Room Tip: Error above; no swimming pool except ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for such rave reviews, and for pinpointing so many details that make the Inn special. I do believe you have us blushing. We always enjoy having you as our guests and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are a quite a few reviews here, most tell you about the great positives of the place such as quaint, location, sunset, private, great looking and convenient. We wont repeat on those but will like to give our perspective from only an overnight.
Absolutely friendly staff welcomes you, and it looks very nice. We practically only slept there on our way to Wilmington. So bearing that in mind, here are some negatives:

The rooms and bathrooms are smaller than typical hotel room, shower is pretty small.
The refrigerator is noisy, can wake you up every time the solenoid kicks in.
The walls/ceilings are not sound insulated, very noisy when someone above your room comes trumping in and wakes you up. The room actually shakes.
The Marsh view is broken by the road and bridge, trucks coming down are also noisy.
The A/C works great, but the fan will not stay on manually, only on automatic. This is a bad attribute in a noisy place since the fan provides white noise.

I am sure the Inn is a great for a lot of you out there, but not our preference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzysanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take every comment seriously and if there is something we can do to improve the quality of the Inn we will. We appreciate your comments about our staff and wish you had enjoyed your experience more.
I can promise you that the rooms are in fact insulated. We are sorry if the people above you disturbed you because we have it posted in all top floor rooms to be aware that someone is below them.
It might be time to look into getting new compressors for the refridgerators in the room and we thank you for calling that to our attention.
The Heat and AC units have the auto fan function, but they also have the fan button on the thermostat remote if you want it to run it that way instead. We have instructions posted on the remote on your welcome letter and in the room books for future reference. Your room also has an air purifier which has a fan button which can also increase the white noise in the room if you like that.
The standard rooms do have a smaller bathroom than our grand rooms. If you do return we suggest the grand room if you like a larger bathroom with the shower and jacuzzi tub.
Taking this all into consideration we do hope you would come and stay with us again sometime. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sunset Beach in North Carolina is a beach lover's dream and the Sunset Inn is the best way to spend your time there. It is a mini hotel/B & B/ small inn all wrapped in one. The staff there are super courteous, friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was spacious and well kept. It had a screend in back porch which was nice except when you went out on it you smelled the swamp...no fault of the inn obviously. Each room had it oun "closet" on the ground floor where you could store beach chairs, bikes whatever...a trememndous perk and convenience. The inn is about one block away from the beach and so convenient. We were lucky to have great weather the days we were there so at night we would sit on the front landing and catch the breeze ( surprisingly no smell from the swamp). the only issue was the breakfast, While it was good , if you are looking for the B & B fanfare ...it it not there. Highly recommend this inn. and highjly recommend going to Sunset Beach...it is quiet, and seeminglly untouched by most of the tourist traps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you discovered us and Sunset Beach, NC. It is very rare to get a bad smell from the Marsh and Intracoastal Waterway, but it will happen about three to four times a year at an extreme low tide. When it fills back in at high tide you do not notice it anymore, but we are glad you could take advantage of our front porch as well. When it comes to breakfast, since we are larger than a typical Bed & Breakafast it is easier to do a buffet style breakfast. We also like to do it this way so guests can go back for more and not just settle on what would be served in a different atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback and always look into all suggestions. Thanks again and do come back and stay sometime. We would love to see you anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great low land view, wonderful bed and room, spotless, comfortable, prices as agreat value. The manager provided a special breakfast as we had to leave before the email time. Love the hot popcorn, a really nice extra .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We were happy to have you and glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We try to throw in some surprises and extra touches like the popcorn so we love that you took advantage of it. We figured we should not have a complimentary DVD collection without popcorn ;). Take care and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel staff are first rate on service.I enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the birds in the marsh, that is right behind the hotel. It's a short walk to the beach IT is a short walk to the beach The room I had was smaller than an average hotel room and the breakfast bar at a Hampton Inn was a lot better than the Sunset Inn. If you are on the main floor you can hear the people walking around on the floor above you.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are sorry that you felt our breakfast was lacking. We were surprised because we have so many guests who rave about it and ask for copies of our recipes. We also state the following on our web-site so guests know what to expect: "A specially prepared hot entrée, which varies daily, is served with a fresh Baked Bread or Muffin, Cereal, Oatmeal, Yogurt, Boiled Eggs, Bagels & English Muffins, Fruit, Milk, Juice, Fresh brewed coffee and an array of Teas".
However, we thank you for your comments and we can always look for new recipes and new ideas. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
709 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
509 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,506 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing