We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway Experience”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful Getaway Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We left early to give ourselves extra time, to find the Inn and have lunch near the beach before check-in. We were not familiar with the area, so we spent a bit more time finding the island. The Sunset Inn is conveniently located on the left just as you enter the island. It's in a very nice setting and just a short stroll to the beach. Andrea warmly greeted us at the front desk as we entered to ask if my wife and I could leave the car parked while we walked to the beach. Andrea surprised us by offering to check us in early (very early) as we had arrived well before check-in time. Since the moment we arrived and throughout our stay our experience was absolutely fantastic. The staff was friendly, our room - the Charleston, was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was superb. We look forward to returning and hope to stay longer during our next visit.

Martha and Manny

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelandMarthaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Glad you discovered us and we are happy that we were able to accomodate you and get you in a little earlier then our regular time. We love hearing that you enjoyed every second of your stay. There is still so much to explore and learn about our area so we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    49
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
346
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn. Everything was perfect. The Bermuda room was beautiful with a great view of the Marsh. So clean and great furnishings. The breakfast was delicious and the staff so friendly. If you are visiting Sunset Beach. This is the place to say.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cszwarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting such wonderful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast because we like to start everyone off right in the morning. Our houskeepers and staff strive to make the Inn look spotless and we thank you for taking the time to notice our hard work. Come back and visit anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Looking for a quiet place to spend some time on the beach, this place is for you. Beautiful rooms, great staff and an excellent location to Sunset Island. It is a must stay location!

They offer a nice breakfast room with sunny porches and wind swept views. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is hard not to have a smile on our faces when we encounter guests like yourself. Please come back and stay anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Hatteras room july 15 for our 17th anniversary. The room was well decorated, very clean and very quiet. We had a great time. My wife is a beach person.She love the room and beach. one blockfrom the water nice walk . The breakfast had something for everyone. There was a bottle of champagne in our room waiting for us when we arrived. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. We can't wait to come back.Next time we bring the boat. thanks for a great 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWTFBCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
The Hatteras Room is one of our favorites and it provides the perfect atmosphere for a little romance. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 17th Anniversary. We will keep the champagne on ice for your 18th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and my husband Bob decided to do a overnite getaway to a local beach B&B. I found the Sunset
Inn on a web site and we decided to take the chance. Wow!! you have such a cute little place there
and we were so pleasantly surprized. we stayed in the azeala room, and it was so comfy and
romantic. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony outside our room overlooking the marsh
and sipping our favorite beverages. The weather cooperated, and we had a wonderful beach day
also! Needless to say we did not want to go home....sigh!!! We will be back again!!! Thank You
for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking a chance on us and booking your one night stay at The Sunset Inn. Shame on us for not talking you into two nights, but we are happy to hear that you made the most of your stay while you were here. We hope to see you again when you can plan your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer,SC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We really needed to relax and this is the place to do it! Sunset Inn is super clean and anything you could possibly need is available. We read, napped, and walked on the beach. The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful! This was our second stay at the Sunset Inn and we cant wait for our third!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLHGreer_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We want our guests to feel like the Inn is a home away from home where you can relax and unwind, and we love that you were able to take advantage of it. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Hatteras room the first weekend of June for our 3rd anniversary. The room was well decorated, very clean and very quiet. We had a great time. My husband isn't a beach person - but this place and Sunset Beach made him a believer! The breakfast had something for everyone. There was a bottle of champagne in our room waiting for us when we arrived. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Hatteras Room is wonderful - it has a great porch swing for watching the sunset on the screened in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masongirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your special Anniversary! Sunset Beach is near and dear to our hearts and we are happy to hear that your husband has been put under its charming spell. We would love to see you again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
709 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
509 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,505 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing