We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Reasonably priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fibber McGees

Fibber McGees
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual Upscale Dining
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have had great meals each evening since arriving at OIB last week.. However, Fibber McGees has become our favorite. We had dinner twice since our arrival 5 days ago at OIB. My husband ordered the Bistro Steak and said it was absolutely the best steak he had ever tasted. Perfectly seasoned, juicy, and tender. The crab soup was also outstanding. I ordered an appetizer of pan seared scallops and the seafood salad as my main course. The scallops were light, perfectly seared and seasoned, and very flavorful. The seafood salad was awesome! The salad had minimal mayo, very flavorful and uniquely seasoned. It was the best seafood salad I have ever had! I intend to attempt to duplicate the flavors after I return home.
We will definitely make this one of our favorites to dine while in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    123
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best scallops ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

By far, Fibber McGees has the best scallops ever!!! So savory. Loved the outdoor seating, dog-friendly patio, and great food portions.

One of our favorite stops while on vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestscubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fibbing McManager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I came in with several friends and were greeted by several young ladies. They were very gracious and helpful with specials and they sat us outside. We were joklng around with the server, Cathy, and told her we would like to see if the manager looked like the picture of "Fibber McGee" on the front of the menu, She pointed out the manager, which was sitting several tables away having a drink with some friends. We laughed and told her there was no need to bother him, we were just kidding around. About an hour later I went inside to use the bathroom and took a look around the inside. Having been to Ireland, I saw several pictures that intrigued me. On my way back to my table I walked by the manager's table, I complimented him on his restaurant and inquired about several pictures in the bar. He laughed out loud and said "How the hell would I know, I'm Jewish!" The whole table laughed at me, one of them spitting there beer out he was so taken by the joke.
I figured they had imbibed the last several hours and were in no shape to face customers, I went back to my table told them the joke... just in case there was something funny that I had missed. We decided it was time to go since it was no laughing matter. The funny thing is that we won't be back.
Once again I would like to thank Cathy for her great service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Morcheen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great food at a good price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had four different items off the menu and all were excellent. My son's steak was great. The French Dip was best my wife and sister-in-law ever had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveR0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice Pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Small, but set up well. Good variety on the menu. Staff was very helpful making decisions, and overall very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fibber McGees also viewed

 

Been to Fibber McGees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing